Philips SHP9500 Headphones

Philips SHP9500 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
159 Sold
Product Description
You’ve searched high and low for the perfect headphones to deliver high precision sound, but nothing gives you what you’re looking for. If poor quality headphones are keeping you from holding on for one more day, the Philips SHP9500 Headphones are sure to break free the chains of bad sound Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
14
check
100%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
milksteak21
1
Mar 4, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Surprised how much I liked these
I added these to an order last minute, but I wasn't sure what to expect. I liked the sound out of the box, but after applying Oratory1990's EQ, they became much more enjoyable. I purchased these alongside the HE4XX, but I find myself using the SHP9500's more often. I do wish they had a bit more clamp force, but they don't slip on my head. Overall I'm happy with the purchase.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
mugenoesis
0
Feb 25, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great soundstage for the price
Really nothing bad to say, really comfortable, next to zero head lamp and great soundstage.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dondoucette
4
Feb 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just wow.
I have many headphones and every pair has something to like but my overall favourite are these 9500’s. The pads are comfortable and do not touch my ears, the headband provides just the right amount of clamping and cause me no discomfort whatsoever making for a pleasurable listening experience even when listening for extended periods. Ahhh the sound, for my ears the quality and detail provided by the 9500 is as good as I’ve ever had at any price. My biggest complaint with most headphones today is the over the top bass sensitivity, these do not suffer from that, the bass response is both reasonable and detailed as is the whole soundstage. Easily my favourite. So what’s bad you ask? That damn cord is utter garbage, length is fine if your primary listening is done on a 2 channel home system but way too long for portable listening. The sheath is not very bendy without retaining it’s bent shape, terrible. Instead you should invest in a good quality cloth covered silicone cable that is much easier to deal with in your preferred length.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
noahk113
3
Feb 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice sound, okay built quality, crappy cable.
The sound and the comfort are the highlights of these headphones. The sound is pretty flat and they almost disappear after being worn for a while. The build quality is pretty okay, it's plastic but not terrible plastic. The cable is junk though, it's stiff and you can hear it moving around in the headphones themselves. It's a 3.5mm so it's easily replaceable though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Spurlos
0
Feb 10, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great improvement
These are a big step up from SHP8500 which I own for more than 10 years strait.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
bakker1337
3
Feb 9, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Not the biggest audiophile, but they are the best $70 headphones I've tried.
Overall, I'd recommend these. The bass isn't super loud, but it is there and it goes quite deep. The mids are clear and the highs are crisp, but a little fatiguing. I've heard details in songs I've heard 100s of times that I've never heard before, on M50s and some other headphones and some speakers. They are big headphones, and the headband isn't the most comfortable since they don't really clamp to my head at all. I can shake them off if I try, but not in typical use. The earcups are kinda shallow and my ears touch the fabric covering the drivers. But its not too bad in my experience, since the surface is soft and flat, not having any protruding driver covers or anything. You can probably get these at a similar or even better price (not to mention faster) on most other sites, but where I am, this was one of the best options. (For me it was Fast or cheap, pick one).
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
RyanPin
205
Jan 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Flaws keep it from being perfect at the price.
I have to say, for $70 and being open back, this is a good starter and bargain set on headphones. But the way I see it, it’s getting the base level of a car. It’ll get you there, but there are things that you can do to improve it and make the ride a little better. I could give this five stars for two main reasons, the ear pads and the removable cable. I personally hated the original ear pads. In fact, it the reason I waited on posting this review for so long. They are thing and provided absolutely no clamping force on my head. It wasn’t u til I ordered custom 3D printed circular headphone pads holders from mod house that made these much more bearable. The problem is that so shouldn’t have to get custom pad rings for something like this. Secondly, the detachable cable that came with this is waaaaay too long. I feel like I could jump rope with it. I get it if you are listening on your couch to your sound system, but when you’re sitting at the computer, or hooking it up directly through your phone, I feel like I’m carrying a pocket of worms. It’s that or it’s hanging all over the place and be a possible trip hazard. for a first pair of open backs, you’re gonna have a fun time. I got a shorter cable and paired it with the FiiO btr5 and its now starting to be fun. These do sound very good, but as stated earlier, mods and comfort improvements are highly recommended
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Bob3600
169
Feb 8, 2021
Hi, Where did you get the custom headpad rings? Thanks, Bob
iz2bkf
2
Jan 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good value for the money
Very comfortable and good sounding, the cable is cheap and i’ve changed it, now is better
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aethyta
23
Jan 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Like many other people, I decided to buy these because of Zeos. And you know what? Didn't end up disappointed. I am assuming these don't get sold for 61 dollars anymore and I am not surprised. 70 dollars, which is how much I paid not including international shipping I thought I could spare, but I got so much more. I keep going between my 58X Jubilees (They were what? Triple the price?) and these and yeah, the sound is a little bit different: SHP9500 have a bit more bass, and the highs are a little less pronounced, but the sound detail is the same, the sound stage is THE SAME, and additionally to a 150% more comfortable fit and more flexibility in cable replacement, I am not sure which ones I prefer, so I'm going to use both. And God, you know, the cable that comes with the SHPs is STUPID long, but it doesn't bother me because I found a use for it. Also, I don't know what magic Philips put into these, because they are huge, but have zero clamp and somehow stay on your head. HINT: it's the headband, it needs to be patented and stolen by other manufacturers. Overall, very happy. One single thing I can critique and Zeos has mentioned it: can't replace the pads. Not that you would want to, necessarily, because these are perfect, but they soak up sweat a lot, so in 3 years they could be kind of gross, but by then Philips will come up with something infuriatingly affordable again.
(Edited)
FishGuy
42
Dec 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow ! - my firstaudiophile headset
Wow, they sound great. Nothing like the 'regular' headsets. Note though, that if there are others in the room, they will hear the music too 🙂
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 16
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
16 OF 16 POSTS
Mar 5, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order