Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Sennheiser HD 559 Headphones

Sennheiser HD 559 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
27 requests
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
Koss KPH30i Headphones
Product Description
The HD 559 is part of Sennheiser’s HD 500 series, which is focused on delivering excellent, pro-level audio that’s accessible to all listeners. The 559 embodies this with solid sonic performance—thanks in large part to Sennheiser’s Ergonomic acoustic refinement (E.A.R.) design and proprietary drivers Read More

Customer Reviews

3.8
(11 reviews)
5star
(4)
4star
(4)
3star
(1)
2star
(1)
1star
(1)
73% would recommend to a friend
search
close
UntouchedWagons
2
Mar 1, 2023
checkVerified Buyer
Extremely comfy and great sound, cable has 1/4" jack
I was excited to receive the headphones since my previous pair were starting to become rather uncomfortable, fortunately the HD559's are very comfortable to wear. My only complaint (and I suppose this is more of a listing issue than anything else) is that the headphone cable came with a 1/4" jack rather than the common 3.5mm jack and this was not noted anywhere on this page. So I had to order a cable from the forest place that had a 3.5mm jack on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
Intro to open back
These won't have the hard hitting bass of a conventional closes back headphone. Where they excel is in having noises feel as if they are closer or further from your ear. Their ability to add dimension to your sound experience makes these great for gaming. They are also amazing light and comfortable
Recommends this product? Yes
parker760
19
Sep 21, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Ladies and gentlemen, it’s meh
If these headphones were a spice, it would be flour. I just am confused as to who asked for a middling v shape open back headphone :/
Recommends this product? No
eshoe5555
1
Apr 9, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Great HD 559's
I've been listening to these since I received them this afternoon. I've listened to them through my phone only, through two different solid state amps, and a tube amp. I'm quite impressed with the bass response. It's a little muddy through solid state but mellows out a bit with tubes. Even with the slight muddy bass, the midrange is still typical Sennheiser. Clear and warm. That's where Sennheisers shine. The treble is nicely crisp but not too bright. I'm very impressed with the HD 559's and just think, they're not even broken in yet. I think with time the bass will settle down a bit. But there's nothing wrong with a little EQ in the meantime.
Recommends this product? Yes
Bullcat
1
Mar 9, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Sennheiser HD 559 - All Bass all the time.
If you like a neutral sound or any treble at all don't get the HD559. It's straight bass for days.
Recommends this product? No
Joeb1kenobi
71
Mar 20, 2022
BullcatYou are 100% correct! The only upside is they EQ well.
gunk
8
Mar 7, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
sound great
great deal
Recommends this product? Yes
tiborh
37
Dec 27, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
This was a present to someone in the family, who likes listening to music on the smart phone but so far has not invested much into listening gears. He listens to various kinds of music and says that the experience is perfectly OK for him. In my experience, better quality headphones often ruin the listening experience of not too high quality music (which can be a frustrating experience). A lot of people complain about this phone not being too strong in the treble region. This helps with lots of YouTube music which tend to be very sibilant on good headphones. So, to sum up: good choice for a casual listener who wants comfort and good listening experience with various genres and levels of recording quality. update:
the obvious downside: only one (3 metre) cable is provided, which has the quarter inch plug. So, after buying a shorter cable with the 3.5 mm plug and possibly the adaptor from 6.5 mm to 3.5 mm (which I did to make the present better usable), the price reaches the price of the 599 SE (Amazon) discounted price, which I ended up buying for myself and am perfectly satisfied with it as the standard headphones with my phone.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
tiborh
37
Jan 9, 2023
one thing, not all adapters are supported by all phones. e.g. Samsung S21 is really picky. (luckily, not my price bracket)
SuperFlyEDSguy
58
Mar 7, 2023
tiborhYou should only run into compatibility issues with TRRS adapters, not with standard TRS. The extra conductor on the TRRS variety is what adds the microphone, which shouldn’t be an issue here as these don’t have a mic anyways. Personally, I never use audio gear with a mic due to signal degradation and crosstalk since the mic only adds one more thing to share on the common ground. If I’m using my phone to enjoy listening, that’s it, it’ll be in airplane mode until I’m done. Basically, regarding these headphones, they’re standard TRS as they don’t have a microphone, so you hopefully shouldn’t have any issues with the adapters that I originally mentioned. Be well. ✌️
Deca4477
1
Dec 26, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
The best Headphones I've had so far.
It's been a while since I've been able to get my hands on a pair of Sennheiser headphones, and over all I've missed the amazingly neutral sound profile. Only Negatives I can give are the legnth of the cable, the pressure of the headband, the cheapish plastic build quality, and how it doesn't feel like it's sitting right on my head. But otherwise these are great headphones for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Boondha
37
Dec 24, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
This is the shitz
Use it balanced. Please. Use it balanced.
Recommends this product? Yes
DAWU
5
Dec 19, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Sennheiser is misleading people with the HD 599 product. Massdrop may not even know that the box says "UNLOCK YOUR HOME AUDIO'S TRUE POTENTIAL". So somebody will assume that it will be a great adventure. However, I opened the box and found no adapter to use on a smartphone or media computer? Usually there is a 1/4" male to 1/8" female so it can be used. There is only a 1/4" male connector. The other end is connected to the headphone. I checked the user guide and inside the guide it says, under heading "Intended use/Liability" that " The headphones are designed for use with portable devices and hi-fi systems." They are misleading people here! I did not complain to Massdrop ie. Drop because what can they do for me as I live outside USA.
Recommends this product? No
MidnightTaco
20
Mar 15, 2022
DAWUYou can purchase a different cable to satisfy your needs. They can terminate in any number of styles to suit you.
Honeybadgers
371
Apr 4, 2022
MidnightTacoA 3.5mm jack is industry standard these days. It should be expected. This ain't the 1980's or a $1500 pair of cans that requires a desktop amp. That's honestly kinda scummy of them. I shelled out for a custom cable on my HE4xx's because I really liked them, but they included a normal 3.5mm terminating cable with a 1/4 inch adapter.
Showing 18 of 19
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
19 OF 19 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order
Related Products