Thinksound ON2 Headphones

Thinksound ON2 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
1.3K requests
1k Sold
Product Description
From Thinksound, a small company that’s built its name on neutral, detailed audio and a commitment to sustainability, the On2 Monitor Series headphones deliver admirably on both fronts. Everything from the PVC-free cables to the packaging, which uses recycled materials, is designed to reduce their environmental impact Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
76
check
89%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Hellblau
0
Jun 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
good build. good sound. I replaced the pads by YAXI pads and it became much better.
bararan
12
Feb 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great if you are looking for on-ear headphones
For me these strike a good balance between "fun to listen" and "detailed". They are also reasonably comfortable for on-ear headphones with the right amount of clamping force to keep them in place without being uncomfortably tight. The cable is also pretty decent. In the end however, I decided over-ear headphones are more my cup of tea and sold these.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
V2Schneider
14
Dec 16, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Unspectacular and fragile
Soundwise quite satisfying and a lightweight. As a second unit ok but not something you put on your head at home. Overall fine for the pricerange.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
MelvynOng
86
Jul 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great for portability and sound
Love the soundstage, clear punchy bass, lovely mids, and the treble is just nice. I would say that it sounds better than my Sennheiser Momentum (1st Gen) and I would pick it up from time to time for vocal centric listening. Great for both male and female vocals, rock, and instrumental. Probably due to the smaller size of my head, these tend to slip off easily. That said, I still have ear fatigue after an hour or two.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
HamishtheDog
67
Jul 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Rich detail oriented on-ears
On-ear headphones are a bit of an anomaly in my view. That is to say, closed back versions of on-ears are not what most people typically tend to reach for. They are typically viewed as less comfortable than their larger over-ear siblings and less practical than their smaller in-ear cousins. These, however, should change some minds. As in most cases with headphones, I find it is best to really get to know a product before leaving my thoughts. So I’ve owned and listened to these for about 1.5 years now, and have had plenty time to compare them to others. Sound wise, these lie somewhere in the middle between, let’s say, the 6XX and 177X; two very different headphone models that are both excellent in their own regard. The ON2 have a richness to them, especially in the mid range, and also pick up an enormous amount of detail. They are less laid back than the 6XX, but do not force sound into your ears as potently as the 177X do. The ON2 are never sharp, but they never leave me feeling that I am missing anything. The ON2 are comfortable too. They clamp enough to make a solid seal, but are cushioned enough that I never feel like my head is in a vice or my ears are being crushed. Sound isolation is pretty darn good. There are two places where they lack: bass extension and headband padding. The bass extension can mostly be rectified through some light EQ work. The ON2 will never be a bass head headphone, but it will satisfy most others. As for the padding on the headband, there is some but it could be more. You do feel them, but they are light enough that it isn’t much of an issue unless you are really sensitive to that. Lastly, I should point out that these are closed back and on-ear headphones, so soundstage is not wide. They do a decent job of imaging, however. Are there better headphones? Absolutely. Are these worth the cost? Definitely! They are comfortable, portable, offer good isolation and a pleasant sound signature. With that, they hold a small niche spot in the world of headphones that is worth exploring.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Pau55
0
Jan 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great appearance and beautiful sound
These are great for people who enjoy neutral sound. They get uncomfortable after a while for those wearing glasses though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sandifop
6
Nov 11, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I’m A Fan, Not A Fan Boy
I have now purchased three pair of ON2s and have to contain my enthusiasm or I'll come of as a shill: I do not have any objective here other than write my subjective review. I bought the first pair of ON2 on a whim because the cost was good. I was hoping to find a pair of headphones to cut down on cabin noise in airliners, while avoiding IEMs (which make my ears itch for days after using) and batteries. The ON2s checked all of these boxes. The sound was neutral enough I thought I could use them in my work during studio video shoots and so bought a second pair for work. I have since bought a third pair for my son. (And he loves them) Pros:  - Pretty - About 20db of passive noise attenuation  - Batteries not included (or required) - Comes with both a mic'd and un-mic'd cord - Both ends of the audio cables are 3.5mm phone (very handy) - The sound is not objectionable - The mic is pretty good (not noise cancelling) - Pretty small and folding - Nice ‘under $100’ gift - Good support from the company Cons: - Look too pretty; you might have to find baby sox to protect the wood - An ear-pad on one of my three pair has come loose on occasion, not a big concern for me - Both of the included audio cables are a good length for "personal audio" use but too short for my use on a camera (not a problem for me since both ends are 3.5mm phone, of which I have several longer spares) I'm not going to run on. I didn’t address the audio quality because, at $100, I find these to be a fair deal but not a “big deal.” The best I can say is they present nothing objectionable, the worst is they are not greatly detailed: The sound is good enough for my use with the video camera and personal audio on the train. ON2s are rugged enough for my camera bag and the company quickly corrected an issue I had when (likely) my camera bag was too rough on one of my earpieces. Good enough for government work. Good enough for the train.
(Edited)
RyeGuy
7
Apr 3, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I find the ON2 sound signature enjoyable. I generally like a mostly neutral sound with a slight increase in the low end, because it allows me to listen to a wide range of things. I am sensitive to sibilance, so I don't enjoy headphones with large spikes in the high end for "additional detail" or being "analytical". ON2 don't have this characteristic. At a reasonable listing volume and passive isolation, it will block out the noise of a group of people talking. For me, the only problem is long term use with glasses.
(Edited)
halfhappy
0
Mar 17, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very nice headphone,good sound,but confort is not very good the almohadillas are to small.worse if you wear glasses.on top of all that the customs tax that i paid diden't make the offer very good. It's not a very good bargain.
tvr2500m
138
Mar 25, 2019
Unfortunate for your customs cost. Yes, nice headphone, good sound. To your comfort point... I have only used to any extent a few on-ear headphones, this being one of them. I tend to be a bit indifferent to comfort, but the on-ear headphones I've used have passed my threshold of comfort indifference to being notably uncomfortable at some point. The ON2 earcups do sit squarely on the ears. When not wearing glasses, I've found them to be comfortable enough. With glasses, the temple pieces can be pinched tightly between my ear and head and be uncomfortable after wearing them a while.
brutain
3
Mar 16, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent value, competitive with more expensive headphones. They look and sound great, even driven by a basic source like a regular laptop computer or SANSA MP3. The appearance and build also impressive and the way they fold makes for convenient transport or storage. Not giving 5 stars only because of comfort when wearing eyeglasses - they are fine for an hour or so, then need a break, this is a feel/fit issue (not sound) which I have with most headphones. I am not aware of a better product at the retail price, let alone the Massdrop discount.
(Edited)
Showing 11 of 111
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
111 OF 111 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
That is a good question, and a fair one. I don't have a lot of headphones to compare them to, just studio monitors I use elsewhere (some of them high-end Sennheisers), and my own personal Sony MDR-V6. I was evaluating the ON2 based on how they fit my own needs, rather than how they compare to other headphones in the same price bracket. For example, the MDR-V6 are probably more fun, but far less analytical. I haven't listened to them for a while, though, as I am primarily using IEMs right now. The ON2 has impressive technicalities, there's no doubt about it. However, I really did find that for me, they were in an unhappy zone between "accurate studio monitor" and "fun headphones." They are really good at bringing out the details in some types of music, but sound flat or sterile with other types. This inconsistent performance made them unreliable for me. That being said, I may have been a little harsh. I had wanted to give them 3.5 stars, rather than 3, but I don't think that the system allowed me to. If I were to re-evaluate them today, I might give them 4 stars for maybe having a similar role as "analytical" IEMs, like some of the multi-BAs that are now common, even if the sound is completely different. But that's still a little generous, because they don't fit my personal needs. Look, from a build quality standpoint, these are phenomenal. I think that the Thinksound ON2 are some of the nicest looking headphones I have ever seen. They are comfortable, and the fit is easy. The cable is very pleasant to use, and detach. Given the use of some sustainable materials, such as wood, and the ON2's technicalities, these feel like the headphones of the future. But also in a bad way, because they sound robotic at times. With a different tuning, I would be more enthusiastic about them. They just don't fit my needs as studio monitors, or "fun" headphones.