Zorloo ZuperDAC-S
Zorloo ZuperDAC-S
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
402 Sold
Product Description
Delivering on both quality and value, the Zorloo ZuperDAC was a big hit with the Massdrop community—and now, the Zorloo ZuperDAC-S takes things up a notch. It’s 40 percent lighter than the original (important for a portable DAC/amp) and boasts the addition of hardware volume buttons Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
3.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
31
check
50%
would recommend to a friend
search
Johnnieclem
2
Nov 27, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Excellent alternative to native DAC provided with most laptop computers
Zorloo Zuperdac-S Specifications: DAC: ESS Sabre ES9018Q2C Frequency response: 20–40 kHz +/- 0.007 dBrA Max. resolution and sampling rate: 24 bit, 192 kHz Max. output power: 32 mW + 32 mW Volume control: Integrated, 16 steps, works independently from host (last setting is stored) SNR: 120 dB THD: 0.0005% Channel separation: 76 dB Output impedance: < 2 ohms   Associated Equipment: HP Pavilion Laptop, Windows 10 OS, iTunes version 12.10.2, Massdrop IEMS; Tenz P4 Pro, Ultimate Ears UE900s and Noble X Universal. All of the music selected for this evaluation was ripped from CD’s using the Apple Lossless codec.   Musical Selections: A playlist comprised of Rock, Jazz, Classical, Blues and Electronic music was used for the evaluation of the Zorloo Zuperdac-S.  
Presentation: The unit arrived via USPS in a plain white box containing the Zorloo Dac and three USB cables. The Zorloo Zuperdac-S is about half the size of a USB thumb drive. It has a standard USB C connection on one end and a 3.5 mm headphone jack on the other end. There are two volume buttons along the body of the unit and a lighted power indicator on the opposite side.   Initial Set Up: The Zorloo Zuperdac-S was connected to an HP Pavilion Laptop using the supplied USB cable. The Pavilion immediately found and downloaded the driver after which the Zuperdac superseded the internal sound card of the system. An IEM was attached to the Zuperdac –S.   Evaluation: I can confirm comments from other reviewers, the cables supplied with the Zorloo Zuperdac-S are garbage. The cable had to be placed in a particular position to hear anything. If the cable was bumped you lost signal with great amount of crackle and noise. Throw them away and use a USB cable that you already own or buy a new one. A Cosoos 9 inch braided cable was purchased from Amazon for $6.99 and was used throughout the evaluation.   The initial test is always to turn up the volume to 100% and listen for any hiss, hum or noise. In this case there was dead silence. Next several music selections were chosen from iTunes.   Bass presentation was deep and tight with nice extension. I heard no muddiness or boom.   The midrange was accurate and vocals sounded natural and clear.   The treble was crisp and clear. There was no sibilance or distortion. The Tenz P4 Pro sounded a little bright but then they have that tendency.   The soundstage was as big and full as any that I have heard with an IEM. The imaging separated the instruments and the vocalist quite nicely. All of the IEM's sounded great bu in my opinion the most engaging performance was pairing the Zorloo Zuperdac-S with the Noble X Universal.   Conclusion: The Zorloo Zuperdac-S is an excellent alternative to the native DAC supplied with most electronic devices. I am very pleased with this DAC’s performance and have recommended it to friends and associates.      
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 27, 2019
amirz
8
Sep 25, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing sound quality, the sub-bass is strong and tight while the treble sounds loud but not painful or shrill. This is the biggest audio upgrade you can get for the price, if you are using an integrated DAC on your PC or phone you are missing out. I use the 7 or 8th step from the 16 included so the volume gets decently loud. Zero ambient noise at this level. Build quality of the DAC itself is very premium, but the cables included are not perfect. Still, for this price it is a steal.
Sep 25, 2018
DearLeader
3
Sep 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Almost.....
I'm satisfied with the product - runs a bit warm but works as expected with all my phones and computers, drive my annoying noise-prone IEM like a boss but only after I replace the cable with 0.9$ cable from Aliexpress! The bundled cables are sh*t! Only slight movement make the DAC lost connection so absolutely no good IRL. There's nothing wrong with the DAC quality though, just the cable that needed to be replaced.
Sep 21, 2019
magnumstrikerX
2
Oct 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
So far, the audio quality is great. It's got the base thump, the mids, and highs (mostly use IEMs for this DAC). The drivers for windows worked perfectly fine. A Sabre Ess audio chip in the sub $50 is a steal compared to many dacs running a Sabre Ess chip
Oct 2, 2018
matthewobrien
15
Jul 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poor Build Quality
The unit failed within a week, very abruptly (at the end of a listening session I unplugged the unit and placed it on my desk; it was dead the next time I tried to use it). Before that it was difficult to keep it plugged in, as the port was fairly loose fitting and slight movement while walking would dislodge the cord enough to stop my music. The sound quality when it worked was good, but not worth the possibility of getting one on the wrong side of the bathtub curve or the hassle of keeping the plug seated.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Jul 3, 2019
InFlames
16
Dec 22, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
As somebody who absolutely enjoyed the sound and form-factor of this DAC and recommended it to many of my friends (such as @amirz) , I am disappointed to say that I'm sorry. The left audio channel on the ZuperDAC-S has spontaneously started to dysfunction leading to a lack of constant sound on the left with repeated disconnections. The only way to get a semi-stable left channel sound is it to plug the headphones in 3/4ths the way in. I have tested this with a multitude of headphones and they all exhibit the same issue when using them with the ZuperDAC-S. I have also tried changing the microUSB -> Type-C cables to no avail. This is unacceptable for a product that I haven't even used continuously for 6 months considering that I babysit my tech usually. Hopefully Massdrop or Zorloo can send me a replacement or something so that I can rekindle my love for the product.
(Edited)
Dec 22, 2018
wjustice
8
Sep 27, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Really low build quality, sound was ok though. The USB port on the DAC was loose and ended up failing after less than a week of use.
Sep 27, 2018
matthewobrien
15
Jul 3, 2019
bookmark_border
I had an identical issue. Really hoping that this can be resolved somehow, as $50 is ridiculous for something that failed so quickly.
Jul 3, 2019
DareToBe
158
Jul 14, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Bad QC: I got only one-channel audio. Already returned. Massdrop return service is pretty good though. An easy final check before packaging should identify the problem. Don't know why the QC is not there.
Jul 14, 2018
JCReyn98
2
Dec 5, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Enjoyed unit while it was working, stopped functioning after a month of owning it
I hadn't used a portable DAC before, purchased this one with the idea of upgrading my phone to one without a 3.5 jack and using this as the bridge. I replaced the cables that came with it almost immediately as they gave out within a week of use. Then after a month the whole unit appears to no longer be working, no matter what device/cable i use with it.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Dec 5, 2019
ohayoubaka
2
Jan 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The ZuperDAC-S is a very small and portable DAC/Amp that has a good sound quality for a decent price, however the same can't be said about the bundled cables. The USB-C to microUSB cable died after a month of gentle usage which is rather disappointing, and I had to purchase a different cable instead (AmazonBasics USB-C to microUSB) which fortunately works fine with the ZuperDAC-S: https://www.amazon.co.uk/AmazonBasics-USB-Type-C-Micro-B-Cable/dp/B01LONQ7R6/ref=sr_1_1?srs=1624982031&ie=UTF8&qid=1548336668&sr=8-1 Not exactly thrilled at having to spend extra expenses over a provided cable that should have not been so fragile.
(Edited)
Jan 24, 2019
Showing 11 of 37
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order