Drop 4-Pin XLR-to-2.5mm TRRS Adapter
Drop 4-Pin XLR-to-2.5mm TRRS Adapter
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
4.4k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
A common request among members of the Audiophile Community, this 4-pin XLR-to-2.5mm TRRS adapter is the easiest way to connect 2.5mm balanced cables to the balanced outputs on some of your favorite amplifiers. It works with the Massdrop x MEE audio 2-pin balanced cable set and all other balanced cables currently sold on Drop, and makes a great complement to the Massdrop x Alex Cavalli Liquid Carbon X amp and the Massdrop x THX AAA™ linear amp Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
220
check
94%
would recommend to a friend
search
AXLIC
50
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good job, Massdrop. Later should have MASSDROP 4-PIN XLR-TO-4.4MM TRRRS ADAPTER
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Nov 11, 2019
Zekechini
19
Dec 7, 2019
bookmark_border
veclan has one up on their site, go to veclan.com
Dec 7, 2019
NO8DO
18
Jul 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great adapter and sound quality.
I have a Schitt Jotunheim but was waiting to buy balanced cables until I upgraded from my Sennheiser 598 and Hifiman 400i to a more expensive headset. However, once I saw that I could get this adapter and an Earmax cable for $40 combined, I decided to buy both. I thought "it won't make that much of a difference but at least my curiosity will be satisfied and I won't keep thinking about it." Boy, was I wrong! I listen to a lot of trance, industrial, and classical music. As a norm, I would use the 400i for trance and industrial and the 598 for classical due to the 598's weaker bass. This upgrade has made listening to both of those genres on the 598 possible. The bass hits harder and has this great depth and body. In addition you can hear a lot more detail in the music. Heavy layered songs like Embracing Entropy and alt_Human from Circle of Dust reveal a lot more textures and additional harmonizing background vocals (previously unheard) from lead singer Klayton. On the classical music front, I am hearing instrument separation, positioning and instrument textures a lot more clearly. Pieces like La Mer (Cleveland/Boulez), Scheherazade (CSO/Reiner) and Pines of Rome (Minnesota/Oue) sound glorious. It actually has distracted me while writing this review since I'm hearing so many new details and stopping to appreciate the flutes, harps, trumpets and other instruments. Do yourself a favor. If you have a headphone that can be run balanced, pick up this adapter and a compatible TRRS cable and upgrade your sound. You will be glad you did.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 12, 2019
Timberwolfny
11
May 20, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
it is a adapter it works and feels solid. a little overpriced but so is this hobby
May 20, 2020
TamPrs
171
Apr 27, 2020
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great little converter
Great little converter from XLR balance to 2.5 balance connection. Good build quality. My only complains is there's no 4.4mm version of this thing and that's kills me inside. come on drop just do it you know you want 4.4mm goodness. :P
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Apr 27, 2020
CaseyOD
154
Dec 19, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Why has no one else made this adapter?
Well made. No issues. No one else seems to make anything like this that isn't in the form of a dongle. Great price. What's not to like?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Dec 19, 2019
Zekechini
19
Dec 22, 2019
bookmark_border
Ventureelectronics have made this, along with 4.4mm and 3.5mm. These can be purchased at veclan.com
Dec 22, 2019
Tasunke
88
Aug 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Simple, efficient and good looking
Really simple review, it does exactly what you buy it for. Looks nice. Comes in a very cute little box. How can you give anything else than 5 stars ?
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Aug 23, 2019
novisnick
2
May 2, 2019
Locked
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Just too small for most anything. I thought it was a larger size, my mistake. You want to buy it? Looks and feels very well made.
May 2, 2019
Stefan2305
49
Jun 6, 2019
bookmark_border
The two most common formats that exist on the market for Balanced connections for headphones are XLR and 2.5mm. So it stands to reason that an adapter would be nice to go between the two. Particularly if you'd like to do a set it and forget it adapter together with your balanced cables being all 2.5mm. I for example only have 2.5mm balanced cables for my headphones (other than standard non-balanced cables). New addition to the market that is becoming popular for balanced connections is the new Pentacon connector from Sony, but it's still really low usage compared to XLR and 2.5mm.
Jun 6, 2019
massdrobert
17
Jul 5, 2019
bookmark_border
Hey novisnick, how much you want for it?
Jul 5, 2019
ArnasZ
15
Feb 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Poor connection of the 2.5mm TRRS plug. Have to move the plug to connect properly. Maybe my unit is defective. Once working it does provide a noticeably lower noise floor, better than couple times more expensive adapters I own.
Feb 24, 2019
TaylorD
359
Feb 13, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This adapter is clean, well built, and makes my life so much easier. Works well with the THX AAA 789, and Aune X7s.
Feb 13, 2019
Bsupreme
3
Jan 2, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The adapter is very sturdy. It is precisely engineered and fits perfectly. A nice reassuring click on connect.
Jan 2, 2019
Showing 19 of 244