shopping_cart
Drop + Sennheiser HD 8XX Headphones
$1100

Drop + Sennheiser HD 8XX Headphones

bookmark_border
$1100
Free returns in USA
help
Ready to ship
Product Description
The HD 8XX is based on the HD 800S; a flagship audiophile headphone produced by our partners at Sennheiser. Like the HD 800S, the HD 8XX is made in Germany at Sennheiser’s HQ factory Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
62
check
78%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
ciber
184
Oct 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Disappointed, nothing really standout to surprise me with joy
I am thinking about $300 more to get HD800S from Drop. This 8XX, my impression is: overall thin, flat, and unimpressive presentation. Bass was diminished, drum bass is so little, Vocals sounded slightly distant or veiled. The good side is that, the soundstage was pretty good, resolution is definitely better than 6XX, but nothing really standout to surprise me with joy. I really hope HD800S can give me surprise joy.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
kimdeug
401
Oct 15, 2021
Before to spend 300$ more try to find and listen old Focal Clear/pro. They are on sale now around 1000-1300USD. I have bought mine Clear Pro (brand new) for 900USD on clearance sell. If you like more impact bass, you will enjoy Focal Clear/Pro better. Because, even HD800S needs matching with tube amplifier. On solid state amps it is too "analytical" . This ''analytical" sound is very helpful for games (to hear someone steps) or when you try to copy other guitar players from audio listening. But if you want HD800S, I recommend to add Dekoni Hybrid earpads (I have perforated and leather pads too, but IMHO hybrid sounds beter for me) . But DO NOT!!!!! cut off the mesh on Dekony pads. You can instal small foam inside (similar like on HD6XX) , which will reduce 5-6kHz peak. Regards, Kim
(Edited)
TechDev
1
Oct 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic
The sound profile is fantastic, and the fit is even better I’ve been daily driving it for hours on end with no fatigue at all the open back gives a great sound stage but still manages to have decent isolation
check
Would recommend to a friend.
zenpro
3
Oct 14, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Comfortable and sound quality.
A very good pair of headphones. Almost 3 times more expensive than AKG K712, but sounds just a little bit better. Probably needs more power, I’m still waiting for the delivery of balanced cable 4.4 to find out.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Evshrug
2401
Oct 16, 2021
That is a cute red amp you’re using. Is it a FiiO? If it was designed as a balanced amp, then the internal conversion to Single-Ended will only be able to use half the circuit and half the power… a single-ended amp can be designed to have tons of power and great performance too, the question is more “is it cheaper/better to buy a balanced cable, or better to just buy a better single-ended amp?” The iFi Micro Black Label was a pretty good DAC/amp combo with the HD 800 when I’ve heard it (a few times), my Cavalli Liquid Carbon was great, and I’m sure there are other good amps out there that might give you a more solid and punchy sound (more bass weight, and more distinct attack to the notes). The HD 8XX does have a warmer presence than the HD 800 I also have, and personally I like where it’s at, but even with a great amp, the headphone is not bass-heavy like a Beats or V-Moda. I do agree that the HD 800 (and probably the HD 8XX, though I admit my memory of the AKG K712 Pro is old) does feel like a natural progression.
(Edited)
JakeCW
19
Oct 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good. Requires some proper EQ-ing to truly shine, but good.
I received mine yesterday and immediately switched out the stock pads for the Dekoni Elite Hybrids, followed by setting my EQ by @Daniel_Lagoe in this review section. A/B-ing with and without EQ, songs in every genre opened up, instantly became so much more enjoyable. After EQ-ing, sounds come out clear and beautiful, bass strong, vocals clear. Prior to EQ, the tuning was just simply not enjoyable. This headset has amazing hardware, but truly requires proper EQ to shine. Soundstage is wide and beautiful and as per Daniel_Lagoe's recommendation, Dreams of Arrakis from the Dune soundtrack actually managed elicited a sense of fear in me. Closing my eyes, i felt like i was transported back into the IMAX theatre where i first saw the movie. It was quite the experience. Playing R6 with a soundstage this wide, i was able to pinpoint where my enemies were way more clearly than before on a Fidelio X2HR. It definitely deserves being in the 8-- series of Sennheiser headphones. It indeed sounds horrible and not worth the $1100 stock out of the box, but EQ-ing is definitely worth the hassle and i'd still recommend buying the HD8xx with an aftermarket balanced cable for amazing value. Again, shoutout to @Daniel_Lagoe for the amazing recommended EQ settings. I really really enjoyed the headphones after. DAC/Amp combo: Schiit Modius + Magnius.
search

search
Also, 444 is as unlucky as a number you can get as an asian person. It do be like that sometimes.
search
And just to piss some of yall off, a janky headphone stand made from the dac/amp combo:
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Evshrug
2401
Oct 16, 2021
Ooooh I’m going to check out the Dune soundtrack… Wow, yeah “Dream of Arrakis” is an experience!!
JakeCW
19
Oct 16, 2021
Goosebump-inducing huh?
Yog-Sothoth
71
Oct 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They sound like fresh mango eaten with a solid golden spoon tastes
Better than my old HD 650s in literally every way, which is all I ever wanted. I would recommend this product to an enemy too.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mule_Skinner
4
Oct 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Overall, +pleased, If you want more than that, give me them for free or make me immortal.
First off, I'm not an audio-professional anything. Second, you are now entering the level of, "I might want to get my ears checked." if you are buying these...not that they are not worth it IMHO, just so you don't moan about it if they aren't all you expected them to be, up front. Sound at this level takes a bit of learning and this review is targeted to the person who's looking to level up but who's not using an atomic force microscope to measure air displacement while using these. That being said, I think if you feel that way and play around with them a little bit you'll be pleased. Using mine on an MSI MEG Z490 Godlike motherboard straight in, no hardware in between. Little bits of software but nothing pro level. (thanks to Daniel_Lagoe, will be trying the software in your review, looks nice!) Have my playback settings set to 32 Bit, 192000Hz. Good separation when you have a good source, this is imperative. Played classical, opera (heavy on the coloratura soprano!), Meat Beat Manifesto....so, soup to nuts really and it all played soooo nice I got the "warm and fuzzies" and that's even with .mp3 sources. All in all, when it comes to life, remember, these are headphones...not chemotherapy. That being said, you get what you pay for most times in life and if you pay up front, you often time won't have to pay later on down the line. Sell 0.02 of a BTC and spend some money. Now, to wait and see how much burn I get, as this is my first review on something...I think....ever!? (100 free points is 100 free points!) "You may fire when you are ready, Gridley." (Hey wait, in this next part...what's a "friend"?)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
raansire7
1290
Oct 13, 2021
Hilarious review, mate!
Mule_Skinner
4
Oct 13, 2021
Cheers, mission accomplished then. >:)
Berry.Narvz
39
Oct 13, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very Good with EQ
Out of the box sound is okay but with the price some people will be disappointed. This is not much of a concern to me because I normally EQ my headphones. After applying EQ, HD 8XX sounded very very good. Wide soundstage, dynamic, etc. The only downside is it is sounding a little thin to my preference.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RDoug
24
Oct 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Believe the hype
I love Sennheiser cans and own the 58X, 600, 6XX, 700, and now the 8XX. Each has its merits, but the 8XX outclasses them all. The sound is airy and detailed (more than any other headphones I own by any manufacturer), with forward mids and amazingly revealing highs. For my tastes, they are definitely bass-light despite whatever tuning drop did (the 700, 6XX and 58X deliver much more low end; the 8XX is closest in low-end level to the 600). I use a Schiit Loki to boost the low end to a level I prefer, and with EQ and through my Valhalla 2 these cans are near perfect for me. They are surprising heavy, especially compared to the ultra-light 700s, but still very comfortable. They are supremely engaging, perhaps to a fault when running off the balanced out on my Modius. Warmed up with some tubes and EQ, though, these cans melt my head.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pro Audio + EQ = 5 stars
Initial impressions of the HD8xx after 2 weeks of use: PRO AUDIO: For professional mixing, this is an excellent headphone, as long as you EQ it. I recommend looking up the AudioScienceReview.com review of the HD800S, matching his EQ curves that he set using the Roon desktop software, comparing the frequency response curves listed here on Drop.com for the HD8xx specifically, and adjusting the EQ curves further in order to match the HD8XX, and then adjusting from there based on your preferences. With EQ dialed in, this is a fantastic headphone for mixing and mastering capable of easily producing a flat frequency response (relative to the ideal, biased curve for the human ear), at which point the realism and soundstage this headphone is known for really come through GENERAL SOUND QUALITY: Even for use outside of pro audio, this headphone improves on the HD800S is various ways, although I do agree with AudioScienceReview.com that this headphone still needs EQ to tame the highs. If you are willing to use EQ, this headphone is worth every penny. Even without EQ, if you are someone who prefers bright cans, you will probably love these headphones. The soundstage is amazing, although it sometimes feels slightly artificial, perhaps due to the fact that imaging is not as good as the soundstage. Nonetheless, there are few headphones out there that have better soundstage. There are more expensive headphones out there with roughly equivalent soundstage and clarity whose biggest difference is the frequency response. Thankfully, the HD8XX has very low distortion making it possible to EQ without major loss, making it compete with more expensive cans (depending on the sound signature you are after). It's also more comfortable than many, if not most, headphones out there, so if you can EQ these to compete with more expensive cans, you can bet that it will be worth it. FIT and BUILD: The light silver mesh on the HD8XX is fragile, so take care of them, but aside from that they are incredibly robust. The HD8XX are incredibly comfortable for my head: lightweight, minimal but sufficient pressure, and easy to wear for long periods as long as I'm not sitting in a hot room. The cable seems nice to me, but this is always subjective. You will need to unwrap the cable and allow it it to sit in order to remove some bends, and you may have to take some care in how you drape the cable, but it is nice. You can always upgrade to a balanced cable. The balanced cable made by Sennheiser features identical build quality, but the price is high at $300, so you may want to go with another cable supplier, such as Periapt. DAC and AMP MATCHING: Since I recommend using these with EQ, my Topping A90 and Drop THX 789 provide plenty of power and a clean response. For those hoping to tame the highs without EQ, a tube amp would be recommended, but you'll have to research that yourself since not all tube amps actually tame the highs, but all tube amps have higher distortion. Just because a tube amp has distortion doesn't mean it will match. Tube amps are also more difficult to match for power requirements, depending on the cans, so be sure to thoroughly research your options. Regardless of solid state or tubes, if you care about being able to listen loudly with low distortion, try to get 1W or more of power at 300 Ohms. As for the DAC, just pick a good DAC. If your DAC colors the sound, it's not doing its job. I have a Topping D90 MQA (AKM version), which is easily clean enough to get out of the way and allow the characteristics of the amp and cans to shine through.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
hdaniel133
3
Oct 11, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Awful tuning... good when eq kicks in.
Initial sound is bad... When I ad eq it is good. Yet I will have a hard time thinking I could have headphones that are tuned well out of the box...
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 18 of 193
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
193 OF 193 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest