Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
Drop + Sennheiser HD 8XX Headphones
$999
$1100

Drop + Sennheiser HD 8XX Headphones

bookmark_border
$999
$1100
Members who purchase earn
2,997
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
Sennheiser Balanced XLR Cable
add
Sennheiser Balanced Pentacon Cable
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
169
check
80%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
KingNeptune
1
Nov 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
You’re better off with a pair of ports pros…
The tuning on these is the weirdest thing I’ve ever heard. I’ve had these for a while and I’ve been desperately trying to justify the purchase. I can’t. The imaging is akin to listening to music from speakers in a hallway while you’re wearing some winter ear muffs. The frequency response is objectively wrong. In some songs voices are missing almost like you are trying to simulate tone deafness. For the price I can’t justify this headphone at all. Between the muffled presentation and extreme drop in mids there is no saving this. EQs have a tough time fixing this, but then again why would I want to EQ after spending this kind of money… Just save up and get a real 800 or 800s.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
seabornepizza
1
Nov 23, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
DO NOT BUY IT
Basiclly a cheap, bad version of hd800 series, the tuning is SO DISGUSSTING, you have to try your luck to eq it back. Before I brought it I thought it's a improvement on hd800s like hd6xx did, alas, when I found out how bad this headset's reputation is, drop denied by return requirement and send it 6 days prior to the estimate shipment day (cause if it's shipped you can't submit a return). When it arrive to CA, it charges me just 150 dollar, with few more you could buy a brand new hd800s. Average shopping experience in the year of 2022, thank you drop
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
FrostVII
12
Nov 20, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stock tuning is a bit odd, used AutoEQ to bring back mid
Build quality is as you'd expect for a Sennheiser HD 800 series headphone. The blue appears more black compared to photos. I wish it came with the 4.4 balanced pentacon cables as well. Drop was giving it out for free with a credit when you buy the cable and these headphones earlier this year. Do not buy these unless they are on sale for $899.99. I missed out on the free balanced cables, and got a third party one from AliExpress for $60. The material used is much softer and flexible compared to stock cables anyways. So only get the stock balanced cable if they are included for free.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
BodeL
3
Nov 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
6th HD Pair, and Zero Disappointment
It's not often that I want something for myself or review/praise products, but today, today I finally laid my Sennheiser HD-600 to rest after 18 faithful years of service (just think about that). The comfort, quality, cord durability (#1 problem with my HD-600), care in packing (a hard case just like with the HD-600), everything, everything is just better. My major concern going from the HD-600 to Drop 8XX was that the sound quality & listening experience really wouldn't be noticeable to me, but boy was I completely wrong, it is an entirely new listening experience, how the ear cups easily cover your entire ear and have a left/right and an up/down actuation to adjust to the shape of your face just allows it to change the way how the sound hits your ears. (The HD-600 had little wiggle room left/right and mainly up/down, similarly, the HD-598 and the HD-555 don't even have left/right, only the up/down tilt if I remember correctly, they haven't been out in some time). Everything is comfortable, forming to your head, providing a snug fit that is easy to adjust while being so comfortable that if you zone out you'd be likely to forget you had them on. My photo doesn't do them the most justice, it was a quick snap when I got them today on an old phone (headphone priorities, am I right). After reading some other reviews about sound difference and quality, a little EQ definitely did the trick, but otherwise the 8XX and 800S in terms of specifications are identical, with measurements only marginally varying. All-in-all these were worth the buy and a great addition to my collection.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Pringled
2
Nov 5, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fantastic with EQ, bit uncomfortable
All the rumors about the HD8XX having very odd tonality were true, but all of that was easily resolved with EQ. You can easily make this a harman soundstage beast or an HD 800 S for half the price. That being said, the headband is one of the most annoying I've ever had to deal with on any pair of headphones, and I own some heavy beasts. It doesn't show until after a while of listening, but when it pops up, it is painful.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
MiruKa
2
Oct 27, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Decent gaming headphone
search
I own both 800s and 8xx, and they are simply two different headphone. So don't expect them to be the same. Pretty good for gaming, with good sound stage and better bass. Good value with discount.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
MiruKa
2
Oct 31, 2022
Hey Liam, I have never listened 6xx so I am not pretty sure what sound profile youre looking for. But I saw a review early from others said 8xx is a good upgrade for 650/6xx. Under $900 8xx is a pretty good option.
Stingray31001
0
Nov 1, 2022
i use a geshelli JNOG2 balanced to THX 789, then the original 4pin XLR cable with the elex. never been able to try them with tubes though. i’ve had the elex and elear (which the elex shared a driver with) and for what it’s worth never had any issues. pushing them as far as i feel comfortable doing, my clear drivers clip under too much bass but the other two won’t. the qc/driver design issues definitely exist though, but im super careful with all my headphones to begin with lol.
Beezle-Bub
12
Oct 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Was for music now for gaming
I went down the audio rabbit hole about two years ago and had my eye on the 800s but didn’t want to drop the cash for them, so when Drop had their pre purchase sale I jumped on it. When I got them I was impressed but like all the other comments they needed EQ to really push them to the next level for music.   But....... when i started playing games with these thing, OMG! They are amazing it’s like having audio wall hacks on, the sound from the game (any game) is 360 degrees and pin point accurate. if you are a PC enthusiast like me and it’s your hobby please pick these up for gaming you won’t regret it.   I pair mine with a IFI Zen V2 desktop dac/amp and it has more than enough power to satisfy its needs also with the 'true bass' button you can boost the bass for the cans natively as the 600/800 series are a little light in that department.   Enjoy!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Mav.erick
7
Oct 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth it if they go on sale
Snagged for $700 with the Zeos promo code. Pairing this with an eq bumps the sound quality up to the official Sennheiser HD800s. Compared to the drop HD6xx they are very light and the clamping force is excellent.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
SmashBroz
2
Nov 8, 2022
Mav.erickAny chance they will have that promo again?
Dilutedq
4
Sep 7, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Takes EQ Well
Loved the comfort and build quality. The 2k region needed a bump in EQ to get some clarity for my preference but sounded great then.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
DroppyDroopy
2
Aug 21, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
worth not a penny more....
...than when Zeos had the coupon. It needs EQ. Pure and simple. If like me, you've ever owned and extensively tried 800 and 800s, and are thinking of getting these, just know that 1) do not pay more than 700 bucks for them and 2) you'd need to EQ the heck out of them to get them remotely close to 800. The mod that's going around did nothing for me really (the sticker-removal mod). But YMMV.
chichaz
8
Sep 12, 2022
DroppyDroopyI got a pair of these 2nd hand and cannot acclimate to the SQ. Will I be as unhappy with HD800S? Coming from HD600, HD580, HD58x, etc.
Joe_Mama
16
Oct 21, 2022
chichazMost likely
Showing 24 of 419
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
419 OF 419 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order