GermanMAESTRO GMP 8.35 Mobile Headphones
GermanMAESTRO GMP 8.35 Mobile Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
217 Sold
Product Description
Based in Obrigheim, Germany, GermanMAESTRO has a long tradition of building high-quality headphones for recording engineers and music lovers alike. Take the GMP 8.35 Mobile: a closed-back headphone known for its rugged, nearly indestructible design Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.8
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
8
search
kvander
9
Dec 2, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Wow, these sound great. I own the Grado SR325e which sounds a tiny bit "better" overall to me (although, as open back headphones, completely different) but they are twice the price so they should. The combination of sound quality, comfort, durability and price is tremendous on the GMP 8.35 and I highly recommend these cans if you care about all these metrics. I don't think you'll find better value.
Dec 2, 2018
MaverickAH
236
Nov 9, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've been living with the German Maestro GMP 8.35 Mobile headphones for 2 months now.  I really love, love, love these headphones.  Their sound signature is very studio-like.  They're like having a pair of super HD 25's.  Passive noise isolation is pretty good.  Efficiency is above average & the frequency response is fairly flat across a wide range.  They eerily sound like they could be in the Sennheiser family of headphones.  They have the same wonderful midrange of the HD 25's but with greater extension on both ends of the frequency range with much better efficiency & a bigger soundstage.  They are even more bulletproof & make for great travel companions.  Because of their "studio" performance, I trust what I am hearing from them no matter what the genre of music. With the stock pads, the sound is ever so slightly on the warm side making them a very listenable pair of headphones. Negatives? Some may find them uncomfortable due to the clamping force. Personally, I find them to be fine & they have only gotten better as they have loosened up a bit over time. They also don't wear well off the head since the cups don't fold flat. I would also say that when compared to better, more expensive headphones, they lose some micro detail in the bass & treble. In summary, these are great all-around performers. They just don't do much of anything wrong. Their efficiency is as good as an IEM. A separate amp is not necessary. What I have found is that since the cord is detachable, pairing them with a .5m cable & a Bluewave GET is an absolutely wonderful combo! UPDATE!!! It is now 13 months after I wrote my original review which means that I've now owned these for a total of 15 months. I'm writing this update because I finally decided to make a change to them based on some suspicions I had & I think that everyone who owns them or is thinking of owning deserves to know. First things first, these cans are truly bulletproof! It's one set of headphones that I own (along with an og set of Senn HD 25's) that I don't worry about having a carrying case for. Just throw them in a bag & go! Not only are they durable as heck, they still look like they were just taken out of the box so they also wear well. The only negative I've experienced is that their grip is firm & it might be uncomfortable for some after an hour or two. They can also be sweat monsters if you live where there's high temps & humidity. Now on to the update. As good as they sounded, I always suspected that the stock pads were choking some their performance. The stock pads are on the thin side of things & they also cover part of the drivers. The earpads definitely keep your ears closer to the driver & to compensate for the integrated foam on the pad is fairly thick & dense. Also my stock pads do not look like the provided pics. They look & feel like they were made from Dekoni foam tips. Very spongy & grippy. I always felt that I was being robbed of some treble performance. I was definitely losing some isolation since I wear glasses & wasn't getting a full seal. Anyway, I took advantage of BF & bought some Brainwavz Round Pads in Sheepskin Leather. Upon installation, the effect was immediate! The plushness of the leather allows for a better seal. The integrated foam is thinner & less dense & the thickness of the pads keep your ears further away from the drivers. The bigger earpad opening does not block any of the drivers. The results of all of this are better isolation, better bass & treble extension. The soundstage has greatly improved in both width & depth. Image separation has also improved especially in the treble. The little bit of "sparkle" that was missing is now there. The warmth is still there but now it's tempered with a little bit more energy in the upper mids & treble. Highly recommended! UPDATE 12/17/19 After spending some more time with the Brainwavz pads, they definitely open up the soundstage in a positive manner. The only negative for me is that while treble is extended some may find it to be a slightly aggressive. I certainly do! The foam on the original pads is much, much thicker than what's on the Brainwavz & I think that they aided in quelling some of the highs. I've ordered some foam tuning pads (2mm & 4mm) but they won't be here for a few weeks (China). Hopefully these will attenuate the little bit of brashness I'm detecting (I can be treble sensitive). UPDATE 1/9/20 The tuning pads arrived a couple of weeks ago. I installed the 2mm pads & they fit perfectly. They did exactly what I hoped they would do & brought the treble back into line. It wasn't that it was actually offensive before. It was just that it could get a bit aggressive when the volume was turned up. I'm now getting a smoother response. It's cutting just a touch more of air than I'd prefer but the pads do allow me to turn the volume up without any of the fatigue that I was experiencing without them after about an hour or so & turning up the volume does give you back some of that air. Installing the pads do require you to raise the volume a notch or two but because these cans have iem-like efficiency, it's not a big deal. Even without the changes, I really like these headphones. With the changes, they impress even more & I rank them slightly ahead of the HD 58X. In fact, they make for a killer combo if you're interested in a budget friendly set of open/closed headphones for indoor/outdoor use. I think that you'd have to spend significantly more to beat them on a real world level. BTW...… I've tried pairing the GMP 8.35 Mobile, a cheap 12" 3.5mm cord & a Radsone Earstudio ES100 with great results.
(Edited)
Nov 9, 2018
SL75
64
Oct 17, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought these specifically for use on the go. I don't baby my portable cans, so they eventually die on me. I needed something that can survive 4 seasons and rain and snow and stretching and shoving into bags and pockets without care. Usual points of failures on other cans are cables, pivots and gimbals, and everything plastic used in stress areas. I've broken enough 'nicer' headphones that I started buying and replacing cheap ones for mobile use, but when I saw these, I was hopeful that I found something durable at a reasonable price. Sound quality is justified at that price, but was a secondary consideration for me. And I do like the design and retrofuture styling. It would not look out of place during the Nostromo boot sequence.
I've only had the GMP 8.35 about half a year, but so far so good. Standard single side detachable cable is a big plus, because it pops free when snagged instead of snapping or dragging the whole thing off. Replaceable when it wears out (I've lost cables to cold weather, which makes them noticeably stiffer and more prone to flex fatigue and intermittent shorts). The plastic accordion covers over the expanding part of the headband is a plus (I've lost cans to water infiltrating the earcups through gaps used by headbands or exposed L/R wires, another common snag/snap zone). The cups don't fold for compactness, nor are they particularly adjustable for comfort, which is a minus, but that also means no joints to wear out or crack. Personally, that's a net plus since joint failure is usually the first and final can killer in my own experience.
The main downside is that lack of adjustability. I've got a big noggin, and at full extension, these would just barely fit on me if i'm wearing a cap or a fro. I also prefer wearing the headband just a little bit forward to prevent them slipping off the back if i am doing anything active, so I wish these had a touch more angle on the cups. And the cups aren't deep or wide, so may be a problem for the big eared or glasses wearers. Definitely not as comfortable or sealing as larger circumaurals, and so not as good at isolation either.
Overall pleased, and if they can last a few years, I'd buy them again for my use case if they needed replacing.
Oct 17, 2018
frivoflava29
106
Dec 15, 2018
bookmark_border
You may have already figured this out, but you can rotate the cups forward -- that's what I did and it's way more comfortable.
Dec 15, 2018
BigDogs
9
Oct 16, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty cool definitely different extremely comfortable & pretty light still running the sound through its paces and against the others bright and efficient probably make a good mobile choice
Oct 16, 2018
perisantavsan
14
Oct 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
My favourite iem is ER4SR and my favourite headphone is this :)
Oct 11, 2018
frivoflava29
106
Oct 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I'll start by saying that I think there are many more accessible pairs to try in this price range that others would find more enjoyable. I'll get to why in this review, but it's going to take more than a few words if you can bear with me. I couldn't find many reviews on the GMP 8.35 and I actually really like them for my particular use case. Frankly, I bought these because they're easy to drive and near indestructible. I travel and record and wanted a good pair on the go that I wouldn't feel terrible about abusing and also wouldn't require me to bring an amp around. For reference, my daily drivers are a Focal Elex driven with a Massdrop x Cavalli Tube Hybrid and I have also owned the 6XX, 58X, and 4XX. Yes, I love Massdrop collabs. I'll try to make this review as straightforward as possible, mainly addressing sound and comfort. THE PADS I've tried both the stock pads as well as the velour pads which come with the "advanced" edition. They do sound noticeably different, mostly due to the foam used in the stock pads. The stock pads sound better to me, but it's more difficult to get a proper seal; I found rotating the cups about 45 degrees helped the pads conform to my ears better. They're still awfully shallow though. The velour pads are a little more comfortable, but they're round as opposed to ear shaped and somewhat large. Getting a good seal is surprisingly difficult for me. If I don't push them forward, I end up with a small gap by my neck. While I'm partial to the stock pads, each has pros and cons. I still find myself switching back and forth after months of ownership. THE SOUND As mentioned, I prefer the sound of the stock pads. With a decent seal, the bass is controlled and punchy with some slight emphasis. They don't extend especially low, but the bass that's there is awfully good. I would think along the lines of the 6XX here with maybe a touch more emphasis, but I haven't done a side by side. The mids are well balanced and offer decent clarity in this range. It's hard for me to speak here because I'm mainly comparing them to the likes of the 6XX and Elex, so it's not quite fair. I was surprised by the treble -- it's actually pretty great with the damping material! Soundstage is decently wide for a closed back with no "cavern" effect like some closed backs suffer from. Bigger than the 58X/6XX for certain. I can't think of much to touch on other than this. Overall, I'd describe the sound as at least above average in just about every category without being really impressive at any one thing. Many seem to feel the velour pads sound better. The bass and mids are similar as the stock pads, but the treble is much brighter with the velour pads. I'm not treble averse -- I don't mind the 4XX or KZ ZS6 which are both notoriously bright -- but the proximity between my ear and the drivers makes the treble uncomfortable for me over an extended period. This is why I prefer the stock pads. I've yet to try a foam mod with the velour pads, but I've been planning to. MISC - These are probably easier to drive than some of my IEMs. - You could run these over with your car and I'm pretty sure they would still function. - The left driver is about a decibel louder. Not especially noticeable but it's there. I'm sure Massdrop or German Maestro would have happily replaced my pair. - The clamp is a little tight. Oddly, it feels tighter on one side of my head than the other. FINAL THOUGHTS These have already survived 10 flights packed in a duffel bag with absolutely minimal signs of wear. I will say that all four of the other pairs I mentioned at the beginning of this review have superior qualities in certain categories, but there's nothing the GMP 8.35 Mobile is really bad at by any means and there are many things it does better than particular headphones. For general use, I believe this is an unassuming pair that could use a little more attention. I could see myself using these a lot more if better pads were available.
(Edited)
Oct 11, 2018
Andnata2015
3
Nov 11, 2019
bookmark_border
https://www.brainwavzaudio.com/collections/all/products/headphone-memory-foam-earpads-xl-pu-leather#prod I have these headphones too and changed it to this pads, such a beautiful change.
Nov 11, 2019
Yames12
12
Dec 8, 2019
bookmark_border
i got these pads in sheepskin and man, what a difference. at first i was like its expensive but i got them on sale for 27 bucks. it is a beautiful change indeed. these sound very good for the money and i find them hard to beat.
Dec 8, 2019
ma1980
8
Jun 11, 2018
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very clear sound ,enough bass where is need it,good price,good headphones.
Jun 11, 2018
amerintex
0
Jul 12, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Jul 12, 2019