Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones

Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.9K requests
·
1.8k Sold
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature ebony ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, and Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers Read More

Customer Reviews

4.6
(87 reviews)
5star
(61)
4star
(21)
3star
(2)
2star
(0)
1star
(3)
97% would recommend to a friend
search
close
rottentreats
80
Jul 13, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
End game headphones
Only second to purple hearts, otherwise these things are amazing.
Crozone
27
Jun 28, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Amazing sound and comfort, bad hinge durability.
The X00 Ebony is the most balanced and mature sounding of the three X00 variants. They look beautiful and sound even better. I've paired it with the Grace m9XX (m900), and the amount of tight, controlled bass and sub-bass that these headphones deliver is incredible. They also delivering great soundstage, forward mids, and crisp highs. When it comes to the sound quality, these headphones are a simply fantastic. Comfort is also excellent, especially with some replacement sheepskin pads from Dekoni. The one big downside is the hinge. It functions fine, but is held together with a single tiny philips head screw which takes all of the force and is prone to breaking inside the thread of the hinge. It is difficult to fix without new parts, which are completely unavailable to purchase separately. Although my Ebony hinge has not yet given way, my X00 Purpleheart hinge has already failed and I'm sure it's only a matter of time. If these headphones had a different hinge design or spare parts available, they'd be an instant 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
berryspice
8
Oct 7, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
1 year usage
bought it for $420 with $100 discount excellent mid price headphone that have LR separate connection, can swap to balanced cable and pad great value with solid construction. semi closed due a little gap between the cup connect with balanced amp and dac and xlr cable it reach full potential low distortion and excellent bass zero compromise I paired with smsl m500 through balanced mic cable (1 pair of 1 foot quad balanced worlds best cable) and fostex tr-x00 ebony (dokoni sheepskin pad with attenuation ring/periapt balanced cable) with auto parametric eq (oratory1990 profile) only regret is out of stock will buy 1 more if available
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
checkVerified Buyer
an instant classic
the best version by far of one of the best sounding headphones available. is there anything else to say?
Recommends this product? Yes
LuckyRabbitKing
2
Aug 24, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Horrible build quality
Ordered this about a year ago and was impressed by the sound quality and comfort, but recently the shaft that holds the cup onto the band broke. I looked online and there are no replacement parts available and little to no available customer service. Contacted Massdrop support almost 2 weeks ago and no answer. Great sound and comfort but not worth it if you're not going to be able to use them for a year. Would not recommend. Very disappointed since I liked other Drop products in the past and this one has basically ruined it for me due to the lack of support
(Edited)
Recommends this product? No
dleblanc
246
Sep 20, 2020
LuckyRabbitKingIf you’d like to sell it damaged, email me :) thy_ironman@hotmail.com
LathamTK
1
Aug 5, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Worth the price
If you're looking for great closed cans without the 1000+ $ pricetag of real high-end gear, these will do it for you. Note that these are not studio monitors nor neutral cans, but have a V-shaped sound signature. I really dig listening to rock and metal on these.
Recommends this product? Yes
Johnny.Drama
63
Apr 13, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Very pleased - Awesome sub bass slam!
Super pleased. Most sub bass slam I've experienced. More than LCD2C, ZMF Aelous, HE500. Yum!
Recommends this product? Yes
D-Rom
79
Apr 12, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
These are absolutely incredible. My friend has the normal version and I can really tell the difference in sound quality. Especially in the Bass region. It is a deeper, richer bass. And it also controls better at higher volumes. If you can afford it, I do recommend getting the Ebony option.
Recommends this product? Yes
niqgles
11
Feb 5, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Impressive bass. Questionable build.
First off, I compared these cans to my other Headphones (6XX, Hifiman Edition X, LCD-X). I was looking for a fun and bassy headphone and damn was I impressed with the sound of these cans for only 500$. The wood on the cups is really subtle but nontheless gorgeous. (You can't really tell from the pictures on the website) I do believe in burn in and this headphone was a prime example of that. I didn't like them initially but the more I listened to them, the more they grew on me. Their soundstage is pretty good, considering that these are closed cans. Imaging is ok for the price. I heard from many reviews, that these can hit you with the bass and they didn't disappoint. It's not only super resolving and thick but it also reaches straight down and has great sub-bass extension. It also doesn't bleed into the mid range, which was really surprising. The mids are a bit recessed but the overall dynamics are really good for the price. The song "Mountains" from the Interstellar soundtrack didn't sound as huge and impressive as on the LCD-X (but these are also giant planars and 3-times the cost) but the fact, that they could even go toe-to-toe in some areas, is really impressive. The treble is recessed and gives the headphone an overall warm sound, which personally doesn't bug me at all, because it makes it an overall more enjoyable and laid back experience for me. The only thing that did disappoint me though, was the build (except for the really nice wooden cups). The clamp on these is really light (which I personally don't like) and it gives the headphone a really cheap feel in in the hands. With their pretty significant weight of ~350 grams and almost no padding on the headband I can imagine people having issues with comfort (although you can get custom 3rd party comfort straps, which I would recommend). The comfort was ok for me but I am also used to my LCD-X which weighs almost double (~640 grams). Overall, I am really pleased with these headphones. What they lack in build quality they make up for in sound. When you are looking for a fun headphone with a warm signature and bass, that can hit you in the face (especially in genres like EDM, Hip Hop etc.) look no further than these cans. For 500$ they really hit above their price range.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
passwurd
16
Jan 12, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Good Overall! Could be better.
These are nice out of the box, but I have to mark it down because the pads I got decided to rip apart a month or two after. And any pad change makes the sibilance torture-worthy. You can get the Dekoni pads for this, and they're the best option. But they still have a notable amount. Equalizer APO fixes these problems, and I recommend you use someone's to get the best experience out of these. Also...the bass. These headphones probably make you better at Rhythm games.
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 11 of 163
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
163 OF 163 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products