shopping_cart
Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones

Massdrop x Fostex TR-X00 Ebony Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.1K requests
1.8k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
When the Massdrop community asked for a closed-back headphone that redefined price-to-performance expectations, the TH-X00 was our answer. Made in collaboration with Fostex, a brand that’s produced innovative audio gear since 1949, these headphones feature ebony ear cups, a magnesium alloy frame, and Fostex’s signature biodynamic drivers Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.6
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
86
check
97%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Crozone
21
Jun 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing sound and comfort, bad hinge durability.
The X00 Ebony is the most balanced and mature sounding of the three X00 variants. They look beautiful and sound even better. I've paired it with the Grace m9XX (m900), and the amount of tight, controlled bass and sub-bass that these headphones deliver is incredible. They also delivering great soundstage, forward mids, and crisp highs. When it comes to the sound quality, these headphones are a simply fantastic. Comfort is also excellent, especially with some replacement sheepskin pads from Dekoni. The one big downside is the hinge. It functions fine, but is held together with a single tiny philips head screw which takes all of the force and is prone to breaking inside the thread of the hinge. It is difficult to fix without new parts, which are completely unavailable to purchase separately. Although my Ebony hinge has not yet given way, my X00 Purpleheart hinge has already failed and I'm sure it's only a matter of time. If these headphones had a different hinge design or spare parts available, they'd be an instant 5 stars.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
berryspice
7
Oct 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
1 year usage
bought it for $420 with $100 discount excellent mid price headphone that have LR separate connection, can swap to balanced cable and pad great value with solid construction. semi closed due a little gap between the cup connect with balanced amp and dac and xlr cable it reach full potential low distortion and excellent bass zero compromise I paired with smsl m500 through balanced mic cable (1 pair of 1 foot quad balanced worlds best cable) and fostex tr-x00 ebony (dokoni sheepskin pad with attenuation ring/periapt balanced cable) with auto parametric eq (oratory1990 profile) only regret is out of stock will buy 1 more if available
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
an instant classic
the best version by far of one of the best sounding headphones available. is there anything else to say?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
LuckyRabbitKing
3
Aug 24, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Horrible build quality
Ordered this about a year ago and was impressed by the sound quality and comfort, but recently the shaft that holds the cup onto the band broke. I looked online and there are no replacement parts available and little to no available customer service. Contacted Massdrop support almost 2 weeks ago and no answer. Great sound and comfort but not worth it if you're not going to be able to use them for a year. Would not recommend. Very disappointed since I liked other Drop products in the past and this one has basically ruined it for me due to the lack of support
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
dleblanc
244
Sep 20, 2020
If you’d like to sell it damaged, email me :) thy_ironman@hotmail.com
LathamTK
1
Aug 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth the price
If you're looking for great closed cans without the 1000+ $ pricetag of real high-end gear, these will do it for you. Note that these are not studio monitors nor neutral cans, but have a V-shaped sound signature. I really dig listening to rock and metal on these.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Johnny.Drama
62
Apr 13, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very pleased - Awesome sub bass slam!
Super pleased. Most sub bass slam I've experienced. More than LCD2C, ZMF Aelous, HE500. Yum!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
D-Rom
79
Apr 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
These are absolutely incredible. My friend has the normal version and I can really tell the difference in sound quality. Especially in the Bass region. It is a deeper, richer bass. And it also controls better at higher volumes. If you can afford it, I do recommend getting the Ebony option.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
niqgles
11
Feb 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Impressive bass. Questionable build.
First off, I compared these cans to my other Headphones (6XX, Hifiman Edition X, LCD-X). I was looking for a fun and bassy headphone and damn was I impressed with the sound of these cans for only 500$. The wood on the cups is really subtle but nontheless gorgeous. (You can't really tell from the pictures on the website) I do believe in burn in and this headphone was a prime example of that. I didn't like them initially but the more I listened to them, the more they grew on me. Their soundstage is pretty good, considering that these are closed cans. Imaging is ok for the price. I heard from many reviews, that these can hit you with the bass and they didn't disappoint. It's not only super resolving and thick but it also reaches straight down and has great sub-bass extension. It also doesn't bleed into the mid range, which was really surprising. The mids are a bit recessed but the overall dynamics are really good for the price. The song "Mountains" from the Interstellar soundtrack didn't sound as huge and impressive as on the LCD-X (but these are also giant planars and 3-times the cost) but the fact, that they could even go toe-to-toe in some areas, is really impressive. The treble is recessed and gives the headphone an overall warm sound, which personally doesn't bug me at all, because it makes it an overall more enjoyable and laid back experience for me. The only thing that did disappoint me though, was the build (except for the really nice wooden cups). The clamp on these is really light (which I personally don't like) and it gives the headphone a really cheap feel in in the hands. With their pretty significant weight of ~350 grams and almost no padding on the headband I can imagine people having issues with comfort (although you can get custom 3rd party comfort straps, which I would recommend). The comfort was ok for me but I am also used to my LCD-X which weighs almost double (~640 grams). Overall, I am really pleased with these headphones. What they lack in build quality they make up for in sound. When you are looking for a fun headphone with a warm signature and bass, that can hit you in the face (especially in genres like EDM, Hip Hop etc.) look no further than these cans. For 500$ they really hit above their price range.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
passwurd
11
Jan 12, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good Overall! Could be better.
These are nice out of the box, but I have to mark it down because the pads I got decided to rip apart a month or two after. And any pad change makes the sibilance torture-worthy. You can get the Dekoni pads for this, and they're the best option. But they still have a notable amount. Equalizer APO fixes these problems, and I recommend you use someone's to get the best experience out of these. Also...the bass. These headphones probably make you better at Rhythm games.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
antdroid
363
Jan 2, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun, warm and balanced headphone.
First off, I am reviewing a product that is now discontinued, at least at the time of writing this. So, this is going to be more useful to folks who are looking in the used market for the Fostex TR-X00 Ebony. Where to begin – I found myself looking for a semi-closed back headphone to use at the office a few months ago. I had already been using the Sony WH-H900N ANC headphone there and I do love it, but it’s not as comfortable to wear for a long period of time due to the small cup sizes and the tight seal. That, and I rather have some openness to hear when I’m being asked a question by a colleague. I ended up stumbling into the Fostex TR-X00 Ebony wood. This Drop exclusive features removable cables, as well as a limited edition Ebony wood cup. I had read that these were the most neutral of the available Fostex and Emu headphones in this style and jumped on them when Drop had dropped the price down $100 with coupon code. The TR-X00 has a nice lightweight build that is extremely comfortable to wear. The headband doesn’t have a lot of clamping force which is nice for long periods of listening without a death grip on my head. The pads are made of polyurethane-fake-leather and I ended up replacing them with real lambskin leather pads that have the same shape and fit, but offered much better comfort and breathability. The Ebony wood cups look black from afar, but they’re actually a chocolate brown color in lighting up-close, and with lighting, it reveals the nice wood grain. It’s a subtle but attractive look that I really enjoy, despite the giant white Fostex branding on it. One thing to note is that despite appearing to be a closed-back headphone, these are anything but that. They don’t really isolate that well, and allows a lot of outside noise in. At my listening volume, my headphone doesn’t bleed a lot out, but I can hear noises around me, and that actually works well for me at the office, where I am not surprised when someone is talking to me or needs my attention. Sound Qualities The Fostex TR-X00 Ebony edition features a bass-focused balanced signature that is definitely warm, enjoyable and caters to a more consumer-style signature, while still retaining some good mid-range coherency. Putting them on for the first time, I was actually surprised that they didn’t have mega bass as I had read from the other Fostex and Denon headphones that share the same design and Foster drivers. There’s definitely elevated bass pounding through the biodynamic driver, however, it’s generally balanced when compared to the rest of the spectrum. Sub-bass is where these really perform well, as they extend and dig deep. If you know me, I like sub-bass, mostly for electronic-fused music and films. Having that rumble adds character and depth to music and the Ebony does have that. I wouldn’t say that the general bass section is spectacular however. It’s present and surprisingly does not bleed into the midrange, but it doesn’t have as much definition as something above its price bracket, and only somewhat competes with other headphones in the $400-600 range. If anything, it falls short to the comparably priced planar magnetics in bass definition and bass extension. But, the bass is still good, fun and really well done when you look at it on it’s own merit. And that’s because the midrange surprisingly isn’t a bloated mess. It’s slightly recessed, but only a little bit, which keeps this headphone sane for my personal tastes. Midrange is important, the most important, and I think Fostex did a good job here. Again, it doesn’t have the best resolution here, but it’s coherent for the most part. Male vocals are thick, meaty, and rich. Female vocals are slightly recessed, however they aren’t in anyway harsh, piercing or abnormal like they were on the Purplehearts. Treble on the Ebony is a little rolled off, and not extremely extended. It’s laid back and gives this headphone a warm tonality, and that’s a good thing, as I planned on using this for long days at work when I’m just sitting at the computer multi-tasking away, and want a soundtrack that isn’t just keyboard clacks and mouse clicks. In terms of soundstage, I found the Ebony to be a more intimate affair. It’s width and depth was not unlike something like the Sennheiser HD600. Imaging was average, and the Ebony won’t be one that many call airy and light either. Overall The Ebony was and still is a headphone I gravitate myself towards. It’s comfortable, relatively lightweight, and has a nice warm, rich sound that is well made for long listens without a great deal of fatigue. It’s still on the bassier side of neutral, but I was surprised to find it generally balanced. It’s a recommendation in my book, but unfortunately harder to find now since its been since discontinued.
Showing 11 of 161
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
161 OF 161 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity