shopping_cart
Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs

Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
5.6K requests
2.9k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The first in-ear monitor tuned by Massdrop from the ground up, the Plus features a novel sound signature that combines aspects of a number of community-favorite IEMs. With three Sonion balanced-armature drivers per ear, it delivers extended bass, clarity, and a sound that leans toward full and fun Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.2
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
200
check
70%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
jjsquared
4
Jun 26, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great budget IEMS
Carrying case is a bit small and feels cheap but the sound is fun.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Adriaan
20
Jun 21, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Recommended
My first slightly higher end IEM's, still use them a lot. Very comfortable to wear, easy going sound and musical. Quite sensitive.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
iNViSiBiLiTi
78
May 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound, poor build quality
NOTE: This IEM was first purchased in 2018. The cable connection died about a month later. I RMAed and received a new unit. The second unit's cable died about 2 years later, and after trying to replace the cable, I've ripped out the connector to the IEM, permanently destroying one of the housings. I've ordered a used a pair of these too and given it to my friend a gift, the stock cable has signal to one channel has also died, but the IEMs have not yet.

SOUND: This IEM was great when it first came out. It was a tasteful balance between bass boost and neutral. The upper midrange and treble was quite good for vocals and instrumentals. However, because the IEM is only using balanced armature drivers (3 Sonion), there is a distinct lack of bass texture and slam (the amount of air or rumble you feel) which makes EDM, Electronic, and bass instruments lack the defined resolution that you would normally experience. This also affects the timbre (usually you can tell when musical instruments have a fake-plasticy quality), and is not as smooth and relaxed as a dynamic driver IEM (which has it's own myriad of difficulties including tuning and speed). COMFORT: The IEM is incredibly lightweight and the shape is very well designed to fit a normal ear canal. I upgraded the IEM to use dual flange and then later settle on the Spinfit CP145 medium tips (pictured below) that seal very securely and deeply in my ear. While the stock cable of the IEM is flimsy and will easily degrade (oxidization and eventual failure), lightweight cables are my recommendations for usage. This is easily the most comfortable IEM I've ever worn, better than my Shure SE215. I eventually ordered a Tripowin cable which led to the death of the IEM (see above). The Tripowin was softer and more flexible, but heavier and the connector was too tight and pulled the port out ripping the internal cables to the drivers along with it. EXTRAS: These are very sensitive IEMs. I could not use these on my Schiit Magni 2U without a background hissing. Playing off my Galaxy S10e was fine, but if you have an older device with higher output impedance, be prepared to suffer. An iFi IEMatch cable will fix this issue temporarily. FINAL THOUGHTS The original price of $300 was very competitive in 2017-2018, however my new Moondrop Blessing 2 outdoes the MD+ Universal in technicalities, speed, bass, coherence, and enjoyment. If you can find this IEM for under $150 new, or $100 used, it is still worth for comfort/convenience, if you can ignore the timbre of the balanced armature drivers and hope that you don't destroy the IEM swapping the cables.
search

close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Jebbie
11
Jul 9, 2021
The exact same thing happened to mine
Chasenin
0
Apr 1, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great IEM's
As a first time IEM user these blew me away. I truthfully feel as though I have not listened to music properly until now.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
GenesisEdm
0
Feb 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds great, bass is quite prominent and deep. Cable could be better.
I don't have much experience with iems but I did have a Shure se215 so anything was an upgrade from that point these were on sale for $150 and honestly have no regrets. The sound is quite warm, but its a very enjoyable sound. Cable could be better, will be looking at an upgrade in the future, it's a bit stiff and would seem to break rather easily. I like the case though a bit small, other than that I did enjoy this purchase
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Ashjm
0
Feb 8, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very, very good at any price.
I have owned a few IEMs over the years (Ultimate Ears, before they were bought by Logitech; Etymotic ER4s; 1more triple-driver, a few Chinese "Chi-fi" brands, some Shures, etc). My first ever pair of IEMs were the original Ultimate Ears (pre-Logitech), don't remember the model designation, but pretty similar to the current $500+ offerings from UE. They were life-changing, and I loved them every single day. They finally died after almost a decade of daily use and a few DIY repairs along the way. I've been searching for several years for something as good without spending $$$ and I've finally found it. If you're after typical "audiophile" sound, you probably don't want these. They're not at all neutral. Which is great, because neutral "audiophile" (like those ER4s) sounds boring. Instead, these are lively and fun! Very good low bass extension, slightly laid back in the upper midrange and treble, (ie, not shouty, not sibilant, not annoyingly revealing or fatiguing), but still quite detailed with excellent dynamics. Like most who've reviewed them, I also find them more comfortable than most IEMs I've tried. Now, I'm off to order a replacement cable (one it comes with is ok, but tangles too easily) to make them perfect!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
i8as0p
28
Jan 27, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Amazing fit, good sound, really bad cable
The cable that came with mine broke almost immediately at the 3.5mm jack so I have a support ticket pending, but these take 2-pin connectors so I swapped the cable to use them while Drop processes my inquiry. First off, the fit is incredible. This will vary from person to person but for me the medium dual flange tips plus the lightweight housing just disappear into my ears. Very pleased there, but the other accessories are hit or miss. The case is an awesome high impact style clamshell but the foam liners are just plopped inside and fall out every time. The silicone tips are great but the foam tips are sticky and gross and feel like they're about to crumble. For their original $300 that's a bit tough to swallow, but for the sale price I paid I can deal with it. The sound is a bit different than I usually like, they're described as having "extended bass" which is appropriate. Highs are a bit shrill for my liking and has a hollower feel than I'm used to. Not to say these sound bad in any way, just different. Overall I really like these and with the exceptional fit they'll spend a lot of time in my head. Edit: Drop resolved the issue with the cable so I've adjusted from 3 stars to 4.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
PurpleSm0ke
1
Jan 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound and fit, short cable
With cheap plastic construction, I immediately thought the Massdrop Universal IEMs were cheaply made... Boy was I wrong! After a 50 hour break in period, I tested the buds against a variety of music from classical to EDM whilst plugged into a Schitt Fulla 2 DAC/Amp and only playing my own Vinyl rips to FLAC. Bass is slightly weaker than my Pinnacle Audio P1's with more vibrant mids and highs. I noticed that the stock cable actually is a hindrance to performance and the upgrade to the premium cable is a necessity to get the best out of these IEMs. Onto the cable: The stock cable feels cheaply made, got all scratchy feeling around my ear, and limited the quality of the audio in comparison to the premium cable. Even so, both cables are extremely short and provided no slack when plugged into my listening setup (although it fits fine when plugged into a phone in your pocket) As for the IEMs themselves, they are, in my humble opinion, the best IEMs at this price point. Imaging is great, I was shocked these weren't custom IEMs due to how well they fit, and they're black (which makes them nice and unassuming). The eartip selection is great, although I would have liked to see the Massdrop Universal IEMs ship with Dekoni or Comply foam eartips instead of the ones they ship with as stock. TLDR: Great IEM, but only if you purchase the premium cable.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
reilly
1
Jan 24, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great price for some very, very good IEM
Point of clarification, I use these on a balanced output, so YMMV on single amp 3.5, I haven't used them for that much. These actually are very neutral and I love that. They vaguely remind me of 650's with a little more low frequency focus or the 6XX. I quite like the profile for walking-around listening, which is my go-to. Other people have complained about the cabling and I completely understand that. It does feel like you could look at the cables sideways and they'd tangle right up on you with no other provocation, but this is fairly minor to me, such that the sounds more than makes up for it. I would say it took the better part of 20-30 hours of listening at moderate to lower volumes to break these in and have the sound become more rich and start to warm up a tiny bit. I definitely would recommend these as a go-to for day to day listening.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Bykovovich
151
Jan 23, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I did no A/B testing.
Didn’t have to. These are perfect. Don’t read my review because it’s just me saying they’re perfect in a drawn out way. I am itching to write a drawn out review about what’s good or not good. What they are and aren’t good for. Not this time. Everything I threw are them, they just smirked and presented perfection. R2R dac? Perfect. AKM based dac? Perfect. balanced? Perfect. single ended? Perfect. filthy deathcore? Perfect. hip hop? Perfect. IPHONE DONGLE? Perfect. These are perfect. I am especially blown away by the bass. These are my first all B/A IEM’s and they are murdering. The comfort is insane. The included tips are now my new standard for silicone tips. Don’t buy these until you are done buying cheap IEMs. Much like when I bought my first big dollar headphone, all the low dollar stuff I’ve bought afterwards doesn’t get the attention it deserves. Maybe buy these and be content until you’re ready to spend $1k on an IEM?
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 344
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
344 OF 344 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest