Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs
Massdrop Plus Universal IEMs
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.1k Sold
Free shipping to USA
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
The first in-ear monitor tuned by Massdrop from the ground up, the Plus features a novel sound signature that combines aspects of a number of community-favorite IEMs. With three Sonion balanced-armature drivers per ear, it delivers extended bass, clarity, and a sound that leans toward full and fun ... Read More
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
129 Reviews
Here's what our community has to say
search
L9s3r-L0rd
8
May 23, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I really tried to like these, but before sound quality mattered (which is not the best for the money), these iems were far too painful to leave in my ear for any extended period. I developed a cutting soreness on the inside of my ear canal that went away when I stopped using them. Sound quality is questionable for this price point. I know this because the Moondrop Kanas Pro exist. For $120 less they quite literally beat them in every category and sound puzzlingly amazing. Even the Fiio Fa7 which I had briefly has a lower noise floor with better clarity. The BA in the Tin T3 is cleaner as well. I can respect what the Massdrop Plus is trying to be. Imaging and frequency response is appropriately there. But $300 is too much to ask when there are other iems that are less veiled and muddy and cost less. I'm giving two stars instead of 3 primarily for the pain they caused.
May 23, 2019
LoliKami
0
May 31, 2019
bookmark_border
Have you tried another size plug?
May 31, 2019
L9s3r-L0rd
8
Jun 3, 2019
bookmark_border
Yes all types that came with them as well as dekoni and spiral dot. I'm assuming at this point my ear is shaped differently.
Jun 3, 2019
edgie168
36
May 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
One of the best bang-for-your-buck IEMs.
May 21, 2019
Tbone519
8
May 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've been a personal audio enthusiast all my life, and here goes my first review. I've always preferred IEMs to cans due to my wide head, clamping force has always steered me away from cans. First off the unboxing, I can appreciate elaborate packaging that makes you feel like you bought something expensive, but in the end its all about the music. These come in a very simple package, and in this day and age its very enviromentally friendly. So with the unboxing I guess I will start with the negatives; the cable is garbage. i've received better cables from IEMs that cost much less. lots of microphonics, lots of memory. The pelican case is too small. winding these up into the case the cable remembers it was wound up into a tiny circle and wants to keep that shape when youre wearing them. Also the case is not as water resistant as I would like. I dropped it into a full sink, scooped it out immediately and there was water inside. Fit is always user dependent, but none of the stock tips worked for me. In my never-ending quest for the perfect IEM I have come to realize I have tiny ear canals, and these things go deep, very deep. I bought JVC spiral dots and I would recommend you do the same. The S/M fit me perfectly. Once you find tips that work, isolation is superb. Highly recommended for on the go usage, on public transportation you wont hear anything but the music. Now to the most important part, the sound. I listen to primarily rock and heavy metal, with a sprinkling of electronica and hip hop. Soundstage is as wide and deep as any IEM in this price range, while accuracy, detail and separation are superb. I am not a basshead by any means, but I grew up in an era where everyone had a subwoofer in their trunk, so I probably prefer more bass than the average listener. these do sub-bass better than any IEM ive heard. Listening to Angel by Massive Attack is a revelation. Having only a single BA for both the mids and highs I was worried, especially about the mids. My worries were quickly alleviated as the mids are surprisingly good. Guitar solos by the likes of Animals as Leaders are more up front than I expected. vocals sound fantastic. Eddie Vedder is my usual litmus test when it comes to male vocals, and he is front and center, while sounding powerful as usual. I dont know what it is about female vocals but I find them intoxicating. After purchasing the Massdrop Plus i listened to Dog Days by Florence and the Machine on repeat endlessly. The highs are crisp yet delicate. Extension is great, with no sibilance to speak of. Ive owned the Massdrop Plus for over a year now, and have well over 1000 hours listening with them. They are easy to drive and sound great out of any source with less than 1 ohm impedance. Whether its my Fiio X5ii, Cayin N5ii, Shanling M0, or Samsung S6, these sound fantastic. Having small ear canals and wanting to try a CIEM I recently joined the drop for the AAW A3h (3 driver hybrid 1DD, 2BA). Build quality and fit were superb, but there was too much mid bass emphasis, not a fan of the thump of a kick drum, and I found the highs to be harsh. So I poached the aftermarket Null Audio cable off of them and switched back to the Plus. Other IEMs I own which I prefer them to are the Shure se315, LZ A4. Ultimate Ears 900, Moondrop Kanas Pro, and the Campfire Comet, although I thoroughly enjoyed the Campfire sound and was very impressed with what they did with a single BA. I hope this much longer than expected review helps. I would knock half a star off if i could due to the terrible cable, but I dont think the sound of the Plus can be beat in this price range.
May 17, 2019
Danielroed
2
May 3, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I have owned the Massdrop plus for a few weeks now, and I would like to share some thoughts on it. First, it seems like they have fixed the loose cable issue, as it has not been a problem for me yet. Also, the included cable was not very good, as it was stiff and picked up movement. I bought a braided copper cable from Penon, and it is supple, soft and looks like a thousand bucks (but actually costs approx 30 usd). The fit of this uiem is great for me when using comply 500s. The good: (Dff) neutral with just a tad delicious warmth. Surprisingly deep bass. Mids are hd650-like with output impedance above 1 but under 3,5. The top is not shouty but with all the details. The attack is fast. Fit is great. timbre is great with guitar and similar instruments. The neutral: The decay is pretty fast too. The soundstage is not big and voices, both male and female, are intimate. The latter is to my liking, but might not be for everyone's liking. Design is not very exciting. The bad: The included cable is no good. Did not like the included foamies. A bit expensive when including VAT when shipping to e.g. Norway. This might have been fixed now, as drop has started an EU option, but I have no clue how that works.
May 3, 2019
CAL_08
20
May 18, 2019
bookmark_border
Did you notice any changes in sound with the cable change? I'm not thrilled with the stock cable either but not sure if it's worth dropping the extra money on a new cable if it's just going to sound the same. I don't have concerns with durability since I mostly listen to these while sitting at a desk.
May 18, 2019
Danielroed
2
Jun 11, 2019
bookmark_border
No sound change, but better comfort for sure:)
Jun 11, 2019
Built2Spill
1
Apr 26, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Love these IEMs. After experimenting with tip size and insertion depth, they have become my favorite over the FH5 and CA Jupiter I have......phenomenal!
Apr 26, 2019
ChinChilLad
2
Apr 24, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
They are nice, good sounding IEMs that isolate well and comfortable. I can't say much for sound but the greatest flaw IMO is the 2pin connection point ----------- somehow they made the connection loose. Every few days (putting them on and off), I had to reseat the connection because it had gotten too loose and audio isn't sending. Every once in a while, one of them would just fall off and would have to spend time looking. Finally, I lost one. 3 stars for me is getting what I expect out of a product. The terrible connection makes it 2.
Apr 24, 2019
dpdjazz
1
Apr 22, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Alright, so I have finally spent some time with these IEMs and am confident now to make an honest review, based on using these in a live music performance setting amongst other things. I am coming from using mostly Shure 215s and having used a 425(?) a couple of times.  First thing I have to say is that you definitely will need a proper source to drive these headphones. I tried plugging these directly into my laptop’s output (Dell 9550) to hear some FLAC files I have (mostly jazz recordings). Unfortunately they sounded extremely weak when I went this route and then decided to use my interface (Scarlet 2i2) to listen to the music. The difference was night and day. Full bass, well rounded mids, and clear and full highs. I was clearly able to hear every single instrument that was on the recording I had and then some. I was super impressed and did the same to some larger uncompressed shows and movies and was super surprised at how clear and full the soundstage was while watching these types of media.  A side note I like to say is that my iPhone XS was able to properly drive the headphones which was great, with the adapter. Though the music I have downloaded on the device isn’t extremely high quality, the sound was still amazing even with files I had downloaded from Spotify or the iTunes Store.  Now going into practical applications such as Avioms and using them in recordings.  Using them in live theater shows has opened up my ears a lot more than my old 215s. I have been playing a major musical theater show for the past 8 months and these IEMs have really shined while using them during shows. The sound stage was a lot wider and more balanced than i was used to (from my 215s) that I had to recalibrate all of my Aviom settings. I was able to hear every instrument a lot more clearly and has made every show I have done sound way better than I was used to, seeing as I always had every single instrument and singer active in my Aviom system.  I also ended up playing a Funk/Motown show recently and had a great time using these as monitors as well. The band and singers were mic’d with some nice equipment that we use during the musical (High end AKGs, DPAs, Neumanns) and everything still sounded great, especially when I had everything tuned in to my liking. Vocals sounded clear, bass was full and articulate, horns were cutting clearly enough to not over power or distort anything in the IEMs, guitar was clean and clearly heard, drums came out crisp and full, and the vocals were full and clear (similar to when I play the musical). I even let another band member use them as he also had 215s and basically blew his mind at how clear and full everything now sounded.  The only reason I am giving these a 4/5 will have to be because of the included earbuds. The foam ones that the Mass Drop IEMs came with are by far the most sound isolating, but the most uncomfortable to use as they hurt my ears after some extended time. I ended up settling currently on the double ribbed (?) silicon buds that they came with, but these are by far not very sound isolating. If the foam tips could somehow get softened a bit then i think those would be ideal.  I also will address the issue of the cable popping out that seems to be common on these. I used the included cable for one full day and nothing happened while using it, but I am a bit paranoid when it comes to these things, so I ended up also buying some 64 audio balanced cables as well to replace the original cable. I do like that cable better as I was better able to mold it to my ear, unlike how the original just curled by itself. I didn’t hear a terribly big difference between the two cables but maybe that’s because I am not using the proper source to tell the difference.  Anyways, overall this was a very good purchase and am happy to recommend these to friends or any other fellow musicians looking for a great sounding IEMs for a great price. They fit extremely well in the ears and the sound quality is second to none for the price, at least in my opinion!
Apr 22, 2019
CosmicHiFi
0
Apr 21, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After owning this for 10 months I must admit. I am impressed with the build quality and sound. The MDP is using Three Balanced Armatures. One for Bass One for Mids One for Treble Fit: The fit is perfect for a person like me that has small ears and ear canals. I can wear them for hours with no discomfort. Isolation: As a traveler that rides the rails of NYC. I'd say that the sound of the rails on the 6 train is mostly blocked out. The MDP has great passive noise isolation. SQ: Bass: Deep with great tonality. I have noticed that the bass is placed in the front with great bass extension. The bass is capable of reaching to subterranean levels. The quantity is quite impressive, despite the fact that the MDP is using Balanced Armatures. Mids: Slightly forward and energetic. Tons of clarity, great accuracy, and great tonality. Lots of detail and certain nuances can be heard in this part of the FR. Treble: A bit bright with no glare. Great extension with lots of clarity. There's still great detail to be heard in this part of the FR. The tonality is very proper. This FR also carries lots of energy. Soundstage: It's definitely 3-D. I had noticed this because of the binaural tests. There's a decent amount of depth and a great amount of width. Making the soundscape feel large, but not crazy large like my UM ME.1. How would I describe the Sound Signature? It's like being in a forest with sunshine lighting the sky. Yet this forest is moderately warm and a tad humid. There are strong gusts of winds cascading along the earthy grounds of the forest. You hear the vivid sounds of the forest. They are close and you can hear them and almost precisely where the birds and other wildlife are in the forest. Overall, I'd say that the MDP is a proper IEM to invest in. I recommend getting a UE Triple Fi 10 replacement cable from Null Audio. If you do order cables from there. I should tell you that it will take up to three weeks to get your cable because it's custom made. The only problem I have with the MDP is the stock cable. It's flimsy and poorly made, but that's why I'm recommending Null Audio for the replacement cable. -Sober Frequency
(Edited)
Apr 21, 2019
Ilyushin
35
Apr 17, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Two driver failures later, I can't really recommend. sounds great when it works, nuetralish, good tonality, ratty cable though. However on I have had drivers fail on two different units, so longevity is a concern.
Apr 17, 2019
MastaMitchell
2
Apr 15, 2019
bookmark_border
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I use these playing live music multiple days a week. The sound quality and isolation is great. I recommend using spiral dot eartips with these.
Apr 15, 2019
Showing 17 of 262
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
262 OF 262 POSTS
Jul 20, 2019
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order