Topping D30 DAC

Topping D30 DAC

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.7K requests
576 Sold
Ready to ship
Product Description
Praised on Head-Fi as a great value DAC to build a system around, the Topping D30 is easy to use and easy to love. It features the highly regarded Cirrus Logic CS4398 DAC chip—along with WIMA, EPCOS, and Nichicon FW capacitors and the OPA2134 high-fidelity opamp—and supports DSD64, DSD128, and PCM formats up to 24 bit/192 kHz Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.4
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
32
search
close
fallenmig
249
May 26, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I got my D30/A30 combo in 2017 and been using it with the VX3 since then. The sound from the D30 is very clean, no coloration at all, the A30 has enough power to power all my full size gears (M1060, T-X0, HE4XX, Mk3 ect.)
Keep in mind that the output impedance on the A30 is higher then most comparable product in this price range, so IEM with low impedance will be slightly effected, although I have not had any issue with my gears in the sound department. On the plus side you can op amp roll with the A30, I would recommend Burson Audio, their V5i Dual op amp is very nice and sounds great, adds a bit of warmth to the sound.
Note: That large brick that came with the A30 is a linear power supply, not your regular wall wart.
Overall I'd recommend this to anyone that needs an entry setup.
search
bigaldallas
0
Nov 24, 2018
what is an op amp
fallenmig
249
Nov 25, 2018
Is an operation amplifier chip. The A30 circuit board has a chip socket instead of a soldered chip, you can remove the stock opamp chip and replace with other 8 pin compatible chips, some chip will give you warmer sound and vise versa.
FireCharge
190
Dec 15, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worth the money, but also isn't.
Bear with me here, it's a great DAC but there's a catch to the worth of the D30. I've owned the 30 stack from Topping for the past year. Other than being a drop product with the actual product shipped caveats, there were no issues whatsoever (Drop shipped me a US version of both the DAC and amp power bricks, now for the DAC it would be easy enough to find another, but as they both feature 220V/110V and 50-60hz I just plugged them into adapters. P.S. I couldn't really find an adapter for the A30, that power plug is so weird). For what it's worth, that 95 bucks for each of them is a pretty decent deal. I really enjoy the stack, I've been using a pair of DT 1990 Pros and Meze 99 Noirs, also Tin T2s and NuForce EDC and been loving every second. The only downside to the DAC is that drop doesn't feature it in black. Now, to the actual point - why should you NOT get this? If you're looking just for a DAC and already have an amp, this is a great product in my opinion, for the price. If you don't, however, you'll probably be looking to get the A30 alongside it because they're sort of supposed to compliment each other as a stack, and while they do, Topping has the DX3 Pro (which also got a revised LDAC version), which as far as I can tell is pretty much identical in terms of quality, plus it has Bluetooth, an extra coaxial port and a much easier to deal with power supply. Sadly I didn't do enough research when I bought my stack (bought it after I got the Beyers and my E10K couldn't really cope with those at all)
check
Would recommend to a friend.
kris.skjordal
52
Dec 18, 2019
It is possible to get Topping D30 in black.
PandLantis
7
Oct 11, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Could not for the life of me get the USB drivers to work properly, otherwise I use the Optical input and it sounds lovely through the H4XXs I bought as well! ;)
WebMDT
9
Oct 26, 2018
Fun...yeah essentially just became a very very expensive paperweight. In order to make it loud enough to make it usable, the gain is so high there is an audible hiss of distortion.
Dilda
121
Oct 27, 2018
Oh I thought we were talking exclusively about the DAC. I'm using a Magni 3 by Schiit. Highly recommend if you want an accurate detail providing amp. The amp is on the brighter side but I feel like it does just fine even up again the Asgard 2 which I've tried as well. All of Schiits amps are generally on the shinny side in sound. They are clean and affordable. The Topping D30 is more than exceptionally good for the money. If it ever breaks on me I will get a Schiit Modi Multibit instead though because I don't mind spending the extra cash.
Manbear
236
Nov 21, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
The only DAC that I’ll ever need. The D30 provides fantastic, clean sound without “getting in the way.” I prefer this to Schiit Modi MB at less than half the price.
dbsylvia
96
Apr 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This was my first purchase of a desktop Dac and Amp stack. I am very pleased with both. Build quality is top notch, stainless steel looks and feels sleek and smooth. The switches respond quickly and are easy to move. The input/output ports are well positioned and don't bobble or slip around. The volume pot on the amp is smooth. The blue led lights are light and not blinding like some can be, ie. Little Dot MKII. The D30 dac has plenty of inputs, usb, coaxial and optical. I mostly use the usb to connect my Surface Pro 3. I have used the coaxial and optical a few times with my PS4 pro and it worked great. The dac doesn't color the sound, it is very clear, detailed and accurate. I am very much in love with the sound. The A30 amp is just glorious. Like the dac it doesn't add any colorization to the sound. Everything just sounds amazing. I like the fact that it has two headphone outputs and three settings for the gain. This gives many options for the various headphones or IEM's that I have in my possession. My Monoprice M1060 sound great, low, extended bass, smooth mids and clear highs with nice detail and staging. The RHA CL750 is very smooth sounding in the mids with bass that is extended and detailed but lacking in impact and the highs are just wonderful, clear and crisp. I am very happy with this purchase and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a dac/amp stack that is under $200.00. The Topping stack is a great value for the price!
Aglex
5
Jan 29, 2019
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought the A30 headphone amp. Used with Sennheiser HD650's and the Grace SDAC. Great value for money, would recommend to all. As noted elsewhere, the power supply makeoff - DIN into the amp - isn't the most robust out there, and is pretty much the only thing that lets the overall build quality down. Been wondering about the Burson opamp upgrade for a while, grabbed some on the recent Massdrop. Installed this afternoon. Now, in the big picture, keep in mind this is US$100 piece of kit. Before the upgrade, I rate the A30 at Value for money: 4.8/5 (ie if you need an headamp, just buy it! ;) Overall sound quality: 4/5 (solid bass and mids, a little edgy at the top end, reasonable sound stage).   I was, TBH, dubious as to how much improvement could be wrung from opamps costing 50% of the original purchase - does the combo really (remain) competitive at the (my cost) US$150 price point? I'm sitting here listening to the upgrade now - having spent the afternoon swapping between the original and Burson opamps. The upgrade doesn't knock your socks off: the amp still does all the good things it did before. But it does them better. And it has vastly fewer "weak points". Bass "slam" and definition are significantly improved: the bass line and drums on Dire Straits - When It Comes To You - now "drives" beautifully (and I'm a bass-head...) - well defined, tuneful -heck, this is the old Naim "Pace, Rhythm and Timing" to a tee. On a "big" system, I'd equate it to upgrading a 50 WPC amp to a 200 WPC from the same brand: everything sounds the same but.. - not louder, just waaaay more controlled. At the same time it's not sterile - just a little laid back. The midrange has opened up a little but is still very much the same. "Ambience" / soundstage are much the same on my kit. Then there's the treble. Wow. Just. Wow. 95% of sibilance is gone, the treble by comparison is now seamless c.f. the mids - and extended. The HD650's aren't the most revealing of headphones - in my opinion, they have too much of the "Sennheiser house sound" for that - but (keeping in mind 50 yr old ears!) this is both the most extended and seamless treble I've ever heard from any Senn's in 34 years of ownership (1985: HD540 Reference II's).   Summary: The upgrade results in a slightly more "laid back" sound over the original opamps, probably due at least in part to the reduction of sibilance in the treble and more apparent control. Sound overall is significantly more controlled, great bass and just "sounds bigger". The best thing I can say about the Burson upgrade is: knowing what I do now, I'd spend the money again in an instant. Value for money on the combo is around 4.5/5 - but the sound quality improvement - also now around 4.5/5 overall - more than justifies the expenditure in my book. If you already own an A30, this is, in my opinion, an outstanding upgrade.
hms.henet
10
Jul 22, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Absolutely great sounding DAC - pristine sound. The A 30 is a very capable amp and since I replaced the opamps with Burson V5i it became a significantly better and great amplifier.
Xsantana
1
Sep 10, 2018
Did you notice any significant changes? I have the d30 and I believe it is the best dac I tried. And I have tried many and more expensive. The A30 is said to be not that good. With that upgrade do you think, in therms of value, there are better options?
Thx
hms.henet
10
Sep 10, 2018
Personally I did like the sound of the A30 + Burson. But if you think in an under 200 dollars amp you would probably find another good deal. For pure power you may get the Schiit Magni 3 if you do not bother about its harsh metallic sound. The O2 is always a good starting point for half the price. One beautiful sounding amp and dac altogether is the XDuoo XD 05 and you can change the opamps too if you wish - here in MD you get this for about 170 dollars. One step up would be JDS Labs El Amp or The Element. Well then things may go crazy depending on which headphone you want to harmonize with an specific amp, Thats the beginning of the never-ending saga of our hobby. Then tubes, hybrids, etc... You count
thelemur
10
Jun 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I've now put more than 100 hours of listening into this combo and am thoroughly impressed. The dual headphone outputs to cater to different headphones is a real bonus to the A30. I'm particularly impressed at how clean this combo sounds - no hiss, no coloration that I can detect, just a nice, clean way to listen to a given album as it was intended by the musicians and engineers behind its creation.
TheFieryHaze
71
Apr 28, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I bought the D30 DAC and paired it with a Schiit Magni 3 Amp to drive my HD 6XX. The reason was because plugging my headphones directly into the jack of my laptop produced an audible buzz, and it probably wasn't the highest quality port. After doing some research and asking questions, I was recommended to buy the D30 by an owner of one. It was set to ship about a month after purchase, but it came in less than two weeks. I was very happy with the shipping time, and the product packaging was high quality. The DAC itself was solid and featured many useful ports, although I have only used the USB port. After setting up everything and wearing my headphones, I immediately heard no buzz. It was pretty much silent, and I was very impressed by how clean the sound was.
The only thing I will warn is that there is a sticker on the side of the DAC and a tiny yellow square saying "Hi-Res Audio" on top. The side sticker leaves some residue behind, but a little acetone will remove it. However, the yellow square is NOT a sticker. I tried removing it for a few minutes until I realized this. It's pretty small anyway so you probably won't even care about it. But overall, it's a great product that I'll use for years to come, and I'd definitely recommend it for the money.
TheRico4o00
2
May 24, 2018
Yeah most new tech stuff I buy has the results still showing from its first half hour with me. Completely broke a piece off a $2k printer while unpacking. Irreparable!!
Phoebe_P
34
Apr 18, 2018
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
I purchased only the DAC. The way I'm using it is in conjunction with my BluRay player as a transport for playing CDs and Audio DVDs and discs with FLACs on them to my stereo (Kenwood C1 Basic preamp to Pioneer SA-510 amp) while still having audio go through to my 5.1 system on the rare occasion I actually do play BluRay movie discs. I also just purchased a Denon iPod dock that has digital audio out, so I'm using the second digital input on the DAC for that as well. It's working perfectly for my purposes and sounds very good to me. The output from it is pretty loud, but that's not an issue since my preamp has a volume control on it, and it's not like it distorts or anything. It's just a strong, healthy output! The build quality seems nice and rugged and the brushed aluminum look matches my amp very well. I'd recommend this DAC to anyone looking for a good audio enthusiast-level DAC on a budget, for sure.
Showing 31 of 63