Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
shopping_cart
DarkVoice 336SE OTL Headphone Amp
$260
$300

DarkVoice 336SE OTL Headphone Amp

bookmark_border
$260
$300
3.1k Sold
·
Ready to Ship
Members who purchase earn
260
Drop Rewards
Frequently bought together:
add
Massdrop x Sennheiser HD 6XX Headphones
add
ADV. Headphone Hanger
add
Drop Earpads for HD 6XX & 58X
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.3
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
277
check
86%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
vladf
0
Nov 15, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Stopped working after seven months
The amp stopped working after seven months of use. The sound passes through it, but the volume knob does not work. And the tubes get extremely hot a few minutes after turning on. I replaced the tubes, but the problem still exists. If there was a warranty, I could replace it. But there is no warranty on these amps provided. It is a paperweight now.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
This is bad. Like, REALLY bad.
I'm aware that some people like this thing, but I just don't see why. The tubes it comes with are utter garbage, and the amp's build quality can only be considered "OK" on the surface. The circuit, however, oh dear… To make matters worse, the topology the amp's designer(s) chose is inherently noisy, and it shows with this amp. Some people say that you can get rid of some of the noise with the right tubes, but I have yet to find one that works. If you consider this for your first tube amp: Just, don't. In no way dies this thing represent what tubs can do for your listening pleasure. This amp is a joke, and I absolutely can't recommend it. Might be a fun modding platform, though. But do me a favor and don't electrocute yourself, ok?
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Durability and Sound Issues
Amplifier provided warm sound just as most reviews have stated prior. However, mine just died after about a year. Attempted to do some basic troubleshooting on the circuit to see if something was shorting the fuse to no avail. Figured I would get lucky and avoid the QC issues that people complain about but I experienced persistent buzzing, lack of power to lower impedance headphones, and obviously complete failure. I would avoid this if you just want something to go with your 6XX's and just get a Schiit amp or something cheaper.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
ldmbis
7
Aug 14, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Worked flawlessly
This is my first tube amp. I have an eye towards good return on investment and the price / value was tempting. My system uses a macbook Pro hooked to a CalDigit TB3+ and a FocusRite Solo hooked over USB to the CalDigit. I had the line out of the FocusRite feed the DarkVoice (cable 1/4 to RCA). At first, I heard crackles and hiss as I moved the mouse on the computer. I was *shocked*. It caught me by surprise. The sound seemed good, but the hiss was too distracting. I checked online and found many post discussing ground loops and the need to add a device to isolate the "PC" (my mac) from the audio. I couldn't believe that a machine as good as a macbookPro would have an issue. So I tested various components to try and understand. At some point I thought: "Wait a second, the macbook is powered from the CalDigit over a TB cable and the data to the CalDigit goes over the same cable. What if.... I powered the macbook Pro from its actual power supply ? I tried and _all_ noises disappeared instantly. Powering the macbook from it's power supply and keeping TB to feed the CalDigit was all it took. Now the DarkVoice produces an amazing sound and I couldn't be happier. I might tube roll later on, but this is already really really much better than the analog output from the focusrite. Highly recommended, awesome value for the price.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
B.a.o.a
2
Aug 11, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Does it's job
The amp works (which is not a given from what i heard), and it sounds pretty nice even though i only used it with the stock tubes (new to tubes btw) , it doesn't have as much power as the reviews would suggest but it's still plenty, and the most noticeable thing is the build, the first issue is the signed plate on top is scratched or maybe painted poorly i'm not sure exactly, the second issue being the amount of glue splattered all over the amp it's very annoying and looks terrible also the rubber feet came off once i lifted the amp out of the box and instantly got lost since they are so small, over all it isn't terrible but definitely not impressed.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
GruxDeluxe
4
Jul 25, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Had a headphone meetup with my friends, we had various headphones along with amps and did alot of testing. One of my friends had this amp, and when we paired it with my DT 1990's, everyone agreed that setup was the best. So the next time this product came in stock, I immediately bought it. However once I got it, the tubes looked burned in already, which is annoying but not too big of a deal for me, apparently burning them is what you want to do with them anyway. The problem is since they're already burned in means I probably didn't get a new product. I would've just kept it but there was broken glass inside the tube somehow. Not sure how it got there, the exterior of the glass wasn't broken but it was there regardless. I returned it and got a new one. Same thing, tubes already burned in (no broken glass though), however it sounded fine, nothing wrong with it so I'm overall satisfied. The main thing though is I highly doubt (at least from my experience) that you're getting a brand new product, seems to me they're just sending out open boxes. Is it that bad? No, but I'm not buying an open box product, I'm buying a NEW product, so it should be NEW. Just know that when you buy this, maybe you'll get lucky, or maybe you'll be returning it.
(Edited)
S.t.e.v.e
3
Jun 22, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Intermittent Crackling Noise
Fine initially, but not long after getting it intermittent crackling noises developed and detract from the experience to the point that this is a better piece of bookshelf art than audio equipment. I tried swapping tubes and changing the input source, but harsh crackle inevitably shows up at some point during any listening experience. I really wanted to like this amp...
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
JameyScott
7
Jun 19, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A Classic Tube Amp
It's not really a classic, but it's still a go-to recommendation for many people when paired with the HD6XX. It's a pretty basic tube amp that has been copied by other manufacturers, but if you want to have an amp that you can tube roll with and find a lot of information on what tubes other people are suggesting. Then, it's well worth the price. You're not really buying this amp for its performance anymore. You're buying it for its legacy and wealth of information available because this thing has been around forever.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Sweetwilliam
20
Nov 8, 2022
JameyScottThere must be a very good reason it has been around forever-I wonder what that could be. It has bee the subject of internet discussion over the years and despite perceived flaws is it is still around. I have one with different tubes and it sounds amazing. I use a Topping D90 and also use the DV as a preamp. Excellent value for money.
Mooseykins
5
Jun 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice to have to try new tubes with
Have a bit of an issue with noise with the amp when certain lights/appliances are on in my house, but it pairs well with the 6xx and really opens up the sound from them. Also you can mess around with buying some tubes if you wish and don't have to worry about buying matched pairs of anything or anything overly expensive.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
joeperalta
1
Jun 10, 2022
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
After 6 months of use it just stop working
The product is great as it comes out of the box, but after 6 months of use there is no more output audio. Tested different RCA cables and output sources and no luck, it started with one of the channels after 2 days both channels are affected. I can see that the power is on and the tubes are lit. With no warranty is it advisable to take somewhere to fix it ?
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 619
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
619 OF 619 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order