Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.2k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Following the success of the Massdrop x Fostex TH-X00, we teamed up with another brand that Foster manufactures headphones for, E-MU Systems, to bring you a new pair of purpleheart headphones—this time smaller, lighter, and perfectly suited for on-the-go use. The Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart features handcrafted solid wood enclosures and biocellulose drivers, like its full-size relative, with a more understated aesthetic and a warm, appealing, non-fatiguing sound Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
130
check
90%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Alecbluestone
0
Jan 28, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Nice headphones
These are really clean sounding headphones for the price. I use the equalizer in iTunes to bump it down a couple notches in the bass region though.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Terra123
1
Jan 20, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Sounds super nice, but it is a tad uncomfy so I added a cushion to the top to make it much
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
MY1202
0
Jan 19, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound & well build
Sounds good, but frail build
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Narmer122
0
Jan 15, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good sound for price
If sound is your chief concern by a long shot, these are perfectly serviceable, actually rather satisfying cans. The wood is pretty, but the build is underwhelming. The plastic seems extra low end, even for plastic. The cable is split, but it's fixed, not changeable, so take care of it. And the cups are a touch smaller than average, maybe a bit small for large ears, though it didn't bother me. But I think the sound is very good, and they don't take much to drive, so very appropriate for a phone or tablet.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
RipTrip
0
Jan 15, 2021
i think everyone should a get a idea of the quality is better than the Original cal which these are tuned off of as a base which are all plastic
imextralucky
3
Jan 12, 2021
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Fun bassy sound for cheap
Great wood closed-back headphones with punchy, impactful bass. Only downside is that they're on-ear, so they're a bit uncomfortable for me. Wearable for long periods of time. They don't isolate noise very well and they don't leak a lot of noise either. These should be good for low-noise environments.
search

search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Pkm111213
3
Dec 25, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Great sound; mediocre build
I purchased these headphones for my dad as an upgrade over his cheapo Sony’s and while to him they’re like a whole new world of sound and build quality, to me they’re just alright. If all you care about is sound quality, these have you covered for the price. They have very good highs and decent lows while some kids can be lacking. Vocals are very clear though from my limited listening time. So the sound is great but what about the build? Well, I don’t really have any issue with the plastic that’s used, as it isn’t cheap plastic and doesn’t feel fragile which is fine for the price. However, I would have rather paid another $20-$30 for a pair with a better cable or with a detachable cable because the attached one is not very good. There is quite a bit of interference with the signal if you aren’t careful with it and it feels generally cheap which is why I’m giving it 4 stars. It definitely sounds better than similarly priced mainstream options though so I’d have to say overall, these are awesome headphones for only 75 bucks.
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
toastedravs
44
Nov 7, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Quality for the pricepoint
These were one of the first things I ever purchased through Drop (Massdrop back in the day). They are exactly what you would expect at the pricepoint they are. Quality is very good-good. They are not high end cans so don't expect picture perfect sound performance. A little heavier on the bass end but not overbearing for me. It's a great pair to have for travel. If they broke or were lost, I wouldn't be devastated I was out $1000+. I'd probably just pick up another pair of these as a replacement. Like any wood cups the color and grain will vary so if that's a deal breaker buyer beware. Mine are fairly close to the photos provided, slightly lighter in color.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
FastEddie38
77
Oct 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Took a chance and I am very pleased
Only thing I would change is the cable. Either make it detachable so you can upgrade your termination or make it with more termination options. Other then that, these headphones are perfect. Plays most genre's very well
search

check
Would recommend to a friend.
Kulpa
37
Sep 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very very good Phone for Travel....
Hello, Since I am the owner of a Denon D2000 modified with Emu Rosewood cups, Fostex Tr xx 00 Mahogany converted to Emu Ebony cups and Denon D7200. Are you to me to pity for on the way, stay in hotels, travel train ect... I wanted to have something where something is less susceptible and still great. The delivery time was reasonable after ordering the Emu's about 2 weeks to Germany is okay. Unpacked and everything was okay. Connected to the tablet it was quite passable on Android  Devices, on the Ipad he went one corner better. Since I am a bit spoiled I was thinking about buying a Dap or try a Dac Dongel. After some research the Ibasso 02 or Hibizs S3 was on the shortlist. Since the Hidizs was on offer I took this one and it arrived by mail after two Weeks. With the Hidizs S3 the little Emu purpelheart really gets going. Suddenly the stage opened, everything brings me closer to the music, more details to hear, and all areas are growing. So with the combination to be mobile, that's enough. The differences with the Hidizs and without are especially striking with Android devices. And the Purpelheart from Emu goes clearly in the direction of Fostex Purpelheart, but in a more quiet way. Bass very present, the mid and high frequencies very good. Only with the voices they are not so clear, but that's not so bad. When i'm sitting in a train, people talk, children play, that's normal. But i can still enjoy music without being disturbed by the others. The fit is also quite good, it just fits my ears when I align it, you can't feel it on your head and the insulation is better than the Fostex. With the Hidizs S3 this is possible, but then it gets too loud when I listen to it. For the money you can't say anything bad about the Emu. Surely it would be better if the budget was bigger. For beginners it's very good and for those who don't want to miss listening good music on the road and maybe have to save money or don't want to spend more. With the Emu and a Dac Dongel you can do absolutely nothing wrong.I think it's a great phone and I would buy it again anytime and recommend it. I have heard much worse headphones in the price range below or above the $100 limit just to be Monil. But I can't say anything bad about the Emu, it fits right away and delivers even if it looks inconspicuous and is made of plastic.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JcOn
29
Sep 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good buy
Sound good and look great. Look at the customer photos to get an idea of the colour. Might benefit from some power from a dac. For specific sound details I would look up a review. Very good buy at this price point
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 11 of 154
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
154 OF 154 POSTS
Jan 28, 2021
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order