Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart Headphones
bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.1k Sold
Free returns in USA
help
Product Description
Following the success of the Massdrop x Fostex TH-X00, we teamed up with another brand that Foster manufactures headphones for, E-MU Systems, to bring you a new pair of purpleheart headphones—this time smaller, lighter, and perfectly suited for on-the-go use. The Massdrop x E-MU Purpleheart features handcrafted solid wood enclosures and biocellulose drivers, like its full-size relative, with a more understated aesthetic and a warm, appealing, non-fatiguing sound Read More
Here's what our community has to say
All of our reviews are from verified customers.
4.1
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
119
check
88%
would recommend to a friend
search
close
Kulpa
25
Sep 26, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very very good Phone for Travel....
Hello, Since I am the owner of a Denon D2000 modified with Emu Rosewood cups, Fostex Tr xx 00 Mahogany converted to Emu Ebony cups and Denon D7200. Are you to me to pity for on the way, stay in hotels, travel train ect... I wanted to have something where something is less susceptible and still great. The delivery time was reasonable after ordering the Emu's about 2 weeks to Germany is okay. Unpacked and everything was okay. Connected to the tablet it was quite passable on Android  Devices, on the Ipad he went one corner better. Since I am a bit spoiled I was thinking about buying a Dap or try a Dac Dongel. After some research the Ibasso 02 or Hibizs S3 was on the shortlist. Since the Hidizs was on offer I took this one and it arrived by mail after two Weeks. With the Hidizs S3 the little Emu purpelheart really gets going. Suddenly the stage opened, everything brings me closer to the music, more details to hear, and all areas are growing. So with the combination to be mobile, that's enough. The differences with the Hidizs and without are especially striking with Android devices. And the Purpelheart from Emu goes clearly in the direction of Fostex Purpelheart, but in a more quiet way. Bass very present, the mid and high frequencies very good. Only with the voices they are not so clear, but that's not so bad. When i'm sitting in a train, people talk, children play, that's normal. But i can still enjoy music without being disturbed by the others. The fit is also quite good, it just fits my ears when I align it, you can't feel it on your head and the insulation is better than the Fostex. With the Hidizs S3 this is possible, but then it gets too loud when I listen to it. For the money you can't say anything bad about the Emu. Surely it would be better if the budget was bigger. For beginners it's very good and for those who don't want to miss listening good music on the road and maybe have to save money or don't want to spend more. With the Emu and a Dac Dongel you can do absolutely nothing wrong.I think it's a great phone and I would buy it again anytime and recommend it. I have heard much worse headphones in the price range below or above the $100 limit just to be Monil. But I can't say anything bad about the Emu, it fits right away and delivers even if it looks inconspicuous and is made of plastic.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
JcOn
16
Sep 23, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good buy
Sound good and look great. Look at the customer photos to get an idea of the colour. Might benefit from some power from a dac. For specific sound details I would look up a review. Very good buy at this price point
check
Would recommend to a friend.
The_Mule
14
Aug 18, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Too much low end for me
I like everything about them, and they somewhat remind me of the Thinksound ON2, which I also have and like. But they don't sounds like the ON2s. The Purplehearts simply are way too bass heavy for me. I also like the DT 770 Pro 80 ohm, the AKG K553 Pro, the K361, but I also find the K371s too bassy too. Audio Technica A550Z: too bassy too (that surprised me). Different strokes for different folks, I guess. I also like the Meze 99 Noir (Classics), Sennheiser 569, and AT M40x. M50x? too bassy, and I didn't like the clamping force. I've seen some comments that the CAL!'s are more balanced with less low end and more treble, so I just got a pair of those to try. Oh, Sony MDR-100A(AP), also too bassy.
rbright
1
Aug 30, 2020
So basically, everything is too bassy for you lol
The_Mule
14
Aug 30, 2020
The DT 770 Pro 80, AKG K361, Thinksound ON2, Meze Noir, Sennheiser 569s are all winners in my book. :-)
(Edited)
kogayund
7
Aug 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Very good quality and excellent sound signature and punchy bass with an amp
I own 3 of these now and there the best sound for the price that i owned it has a good bass and sounds good with synthwave and bands like mudvayne. My only problem is my most recent set is defective because the wood on the cups are loose and raddles
check
Would recommend to a friend.
(Edited)
Ayub
31
Aug 5, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
pleasantly surprised
its a bit tight around the head. Sounds is a little closed in. Doesn't sound airy like my 4xx or Aeonx. Different price range though. for the price they are, very reasonable. Just wish they werent as tight on the head.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
Philmarcus8
2
Jul 31, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Life-like, relaxed, non-fatigue treasure!
check
Would recommend to a friend.
banditking
52
Jul 17, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Good headset
Not bad for this price, nice sound. thanks
check
Would recommend to a friend.
TostiTostelli
67
Jul 15, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
A solid ''meh''
These are meh. Not bad, not great either, just ok-ish. The sound is dark and the bass is a bit muddy (and I say that as a bass lover), and lacking in detail in the highs. Comparing the sound of these to the Koss KPH-30i's... ooooh boy, I wish i could be nicer, but the 30i's just beat these when it comes to sound. The build is, plastic, but ok for a 75$ set of cans. They look absolutely fabulous tho. Makes me want to wear em around my neck, just as a fashion accessory. Not that i'm going to, because that would mean no music. Big fan of Drop, but I can not in good conscience, recommend these. Sorry.
close
Would not recommend to a friend.
EdgeRunner
53
Jul 14, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Pretty great headphones esp for the price
I was really hoping I’d like these because I couldn’t get a definite sense of how these would sound. The reviews were mostly positive so I went ahead and purchased them. Upon opening the box, I was pleasantly surprised. I was seriously afraid the headphone was going to look cheap and gimmicky.. but they weren’t. Do they look like much more expensive headphones all plush and comfy looking? No. But .. the headphones looked clean and sleek. Exactly what I was looking for in this pair. I do not feel they look or feel real cheap in any way. I have spent over twice the amount that I paid for these on a pair of ATH headphones that did look and feel el cheapo. I bought them only because I wanted the sound that the headphones provided. These look significantly better than those ATH’s. I say all of this to remind myself and anyone else of the cost of these headphones. These look beyond that low price. And they sound fantastic. Overall, I agree with those that say it isn’t too high or low. These are definitely middle of the road. But there is a clarity to the sound with a subtle fullness. I purchased these for travel or as an alternative to IEMs when commuting. The headphones have a slim profile so they are perfect for either of my intended uses.  The only thing that I wasn’t crazy about and it could be because of my head shape. ..No matter how I wore the headphones, the comfort at the top of my head wasn’t super. It isn’t horrible.. but I am definitely on a time limit with these. For my needs, it won’t pose an issue. If you were intending to wear these for hours on end, you may find the top of your head getting tired of the headphones. I may look into cushioning them a little more. Tho I may not because I can’t see myself wearing them for extended time periods in my use. Just something to consider.  I definitely recommend the headphones because of the great price point accompanied with a sound signature I liked and a sleek profile with wood. The headphones look very nice wherever you need to use them. 
check
Would recommend to a friend.
dannypov
12
Jul 8, 2020
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
star_borderstar
Dark sounding headphone
The overall sound quality is great, but it's darker sounding than my taste. I would say it worths the money you spend on it.
check
Would recommend to a friend.
Showing 12 of 137
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
137 OF 137 POSTS
Sep 29, 2020
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest