Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Philips SHP9500 Headphones

Philips SHP9500 Headphones

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
8.8K requests
·
335 Sold
Product Description
You’ve searched high and low for the perfect headphones to deliver high precision sound, but nothing gives you what you’re looking for. If poor quality headphones are keeping you from holding on for one more day, the Philips SHP9500 Headphones are sure to break free the chains of bad sound Read More

Customer Reviews

4.6
(47 reviews)
5star
(28)
4star
(19)
3star
(0)
2star
(0)
1star
(0)
100% would recommend to a friend
search
close
Aethyta
34
Jan 1, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Like many other people, I decided to buy these because of Zeos. And you know what? Didn't end up disappointed. I am assuming these don't get sold for 61 dollars anymore and I am not surprised. 70 dollars, which is how much I paid not including international shipping I thought I could spare, but I got so much more. I keep going between my 58X Jubilees (They were what? Triple the price?) and these and yeah, the sound is a little bit different: SHP9500 have a bit more bass, and the highs are a little less pronounced, but the sound detail is the same, the sound stage is THE SAME, and additionally to a 150% more comfortable fit and more flexibility in cable replacement, I am not sure which ones I prefer, so I'm going to use both. And God, you know, the cable that comes with the SHPs is STUPID long, but it doesn't bother me because I found a use for it. Also, I don't know what magic Philips put into these, because they are huge, but have zero clamp and somehow stay on your head. HINT: it's the headband, it needs to be patented and stolen by other manufacturers. Overall, very happy. One single thing I can critique and Zeos has mentioned it: can't replace the pads. Not that you would want to, necessarily, because these are perfect, but they soak up sweat a lot, so in 3 years they could be kind of gross, but by then Philips will come up with something infuriatingly affordable again.
(Edited)
Roxsteady
53
Mar 12, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Surprised about the quality vs the price.
These are excellent headphones for beginner audiophiles. I think the mids exceed the other similarly priced Hifiman HE-35X, with a little extra bass. I changed the earpads on the 35's with Brainwavz perforated pads and the bass kicked up but these SHPs have an overall better sound. Warm, and semi dynamic. Clean listen. Just the right amount of bass when used with a small dac. Super lightweight yet well built. I am floored with the quality. Great job Philips.
search

Recommends this product? Yes
zeebee
95
Nov 21, 2020
checkVerified Buyer
Great Headphone for the price
Just realised that I had this headphone delivered way back in April 2015. Only able to listen to it for a few times until it was confiscated by my daughter and semi-permenantly stuck on her head eversince. Super comfy, well built and balanced sound for the price (I'm not an "headphone person", prefer regular speakers, but do have a reasonably decent collection of headphones). Nothing to complain of except now it's $10 more than in 2015.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
rajesha
1
May 17, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
This is 2nd SHP 9500 and i really love it.
The 1st is now for DIY and i am trying different pads to check the sound. The SHP 9500 is not sold in india and had to import it frm USA. Final landing cost twice the cost of the product. Anyway if someone wants a entry into open back start wiith Shp 9500.
Recommends this product? Yes
tejassaple
0
Dec 21, 2021
rajeshahey, can you give more details on the customs paid in India?? Planning to buy these here for $70 + shipping $15
Audiopro
164
Nov 10, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Great sounding headphone
These phones are definitely a "sleeper" product. Very open and airy sounding with good detail and solid (not overblown) bass I use them for quick reference around my studio all the time. Of courser anyone who hears them, especially my classical musician friends, wants a pair.
Recommends this product? Yes
RyanPin
326
Jan 15, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Flaws keep it from being perfect at the price.
I have to say, for $70 and being open back, this is a good starter and bargain set on headphones. But the way I see it, it’s getting the base level of a car. It’ll get you there, but there are things that you can do to improve it and make the ride a little better. I could give this five stars for two main reasons, the ear pads and the removable cable. I personally hated the original ear pads. In fact, it the reason I waited on posting this review for so long. They are thing and provided absolutely no clamping force on my head. It wasn’t u til I ordered custom 3D printed circular headphone pads holders from mod house that made these much more bearable. The problem is that so shouldn’t have to get custom pad rings for something like this. Secondly, the detachable cable that came with this is waaaaay too long. I feel like I could jump rope with it. I get it if you are listening on your couch to your sound system, but when you’re sitting at the computer, or hooking it up directly through your phone, I feel like I’m carrying a pocket of worms. It’s that or it’s hanging all over the place and be a possible trip hazard. for a first pair of open backs, you’re gonna have a fun time. I got a shorter cable and paired it with the FiiO btr5 and its now starting to be fun. These do sound very good, but as stated earlier, mods and comfort improvements are highly recommended
Recommends this product? Yes
jphone1
5
Mar 8, 2021
RyanPinYou could just fold up some of the cord and put a couple of rubber bands on it so in case you need a longer cord just take some out.
RyanPin
326
Mar 9, 2021
jphone1You know what, I can’t argue with you on that. I may not personally use that idea, but I appreciate the utility of what you speak about.
checkVerified Buyer
Top tier with a couple of compromises...for the price
1-Head adjustment is limited yet very good 2-Cable is meh 3-Pads not interchangeable without effort That said just slap a V-Moda cable in it and you got yourself a good inexpensive pair of headphones
search
Recommends this product? Yes
Lawn-Mower
28
Apr 27, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Great for the price
Not as neutral or warm as Sennheisers. I bought these as a cheapish knock-around pair purely for passing out while watching TV/movies, they do well enough for music too; I haven't tried gaming, but given the profile I'd say they prolly excel there.. I wouldn't use them for studio work unless you can't afford better. Bass is a little weak, highs are bright (definitely not a V profile; more like a slight incline slope from low to high). There's something strange after about the 3-4k mark, and especially around the 5k mark making some 'eses' in dialogue sound weird, seems like one of the worst places to have extreme fluctuations in response. Fairly high detail across the spectrum, but not grainy. Soundstage is one of the most narrow I've heard from open-backs (not a lot of experience to go on). *Can anyone recommend a mod for that? The above is nit-picking really. For the price, the sound is top quality. The drivers need to be positioned correctly for decent sound, I've found roughly center horizontally, but as far down as comfortable (inner top of pad resting on top of ear). When not positioned just right they sound terrible; everything becomes muddy while maintaining detail - it's disconcerting. The pads are a little shallow, I don't have ears that stick out and they're still significantly pressed up against the driver coverings (not uncomfortably so, but I'm used to having total/near-total freedom in there). I'd like to swap the pads, but still on the fence as to whether cost/time can be justified. Build seems like they're trying to imitate premium, nothing particularly wrong with it, it just sort of feels like imitation quality. My biggest gripe is the material used for covering the the foam on the band and pads, but when the cans are on the material feels fine. They are big cans, far from the best suited for travel. Lowish clamping force - certainly not for sporty activities. Fairly light and comfortable. Easily driven and the cable isn't proprietary! Overall, these are great for the price.
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
Asatiir
115
Jun 4, 2021
checkVerified Buyer
Excellent gateway drug to the audiophile hobby.
Great mids and lots of soundstage, doesn't need an amp but still benefit a lot from one
Recommends this product? Yes
entreprenerd
92
Jul 14, 2022
checkVerified Buyer
Excellent entry into this hobby
The Fidelio range is in general pretty good for budding audiophiles looking to explore what their audiophile friends are on about! For less than $100, these are amazing! Clear, with a pleasing amount of treble and reasonable bass as well. If you never heard anything other than these, you would still be hearing more than 80% of the texture audiophiles love. The entire range is good. Get this!
Recommends this product? Yes
Showing 15 of 54
Recent Activity
Placed an order
Placed an order
Placed an order
Related Products