Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Aune T1 SE MK3 Headphone DAC/Amp

Aune T1 SE MK3 Headphone DAC/Amp

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.1K requests
·
327 Sold
Product Description
The third and newest generation of one of the most popular value DAC/amps on the market, the Aune T1 SE MK3 features the compact size and solid build of its predecessors, along with a number of meaningful upgrades. Equipped with the latest XMOS USB design, this version uses a DSD1793 DAC to decode multiple formats up to 24-bit/192kHz, plus DSD64 Read More

Customer Reviews

4.1
(15 reviews)
5star
(7)
4star
(4)
3star
(2)
2star
(2)
1star
(0)
search
close
austin1908
13
May 28, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
This thing sounds fine with the tube it comes with but becomes phenomenal once you invest in a tube of your own preference.
My only gripe is that the software side of things could be a bit better. It works fine on Mac but the setup feels janky.
Operative
15
Jun 22, 2018
I use an Amperex 7308 tube; Bought that after much research, it's said to be one of the top for this, and it blows the stock tube. You can hear a lot more detail and it gives everything a boost. Search up about different tubes for the Aune t1 and you can find some good threads where people have tried many different kinds and how they perform.
RayF
22218
Jun 22, 2018
OperativeGood tip—thanks!
eszczep
3
Sep 11, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
Pairs great with Beyerdynamic DT990 PRO 250Ohm. I am pretty satisfied with a purchase :)
Gofrette
21
Oct 1, 2018
Thanks for the info, I did not know about it. I will keep searching for info and maybe get a DarkVoice or Little Dot to hear a bigger difference with my e10k. Cheers!
eszczep
3
Oct 5, 2018
That's correct! However, because of the tube, the sound seems to be a bit "warmer", which is really great in my opinion! But yeah, it depends on the end-user preferences.
thefute
7
Feb 16, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Does almost everything I want. It sounds great and I love the analogue volume nob. It makes switching volume so much easier and intuitive than going through my computer's digital interface. I also like how it utilizes only a single tube so that it makes swapping and trying different tubes easy. I bought the Gold Lion tube for it and it sounds great, especially when paired with my Grado 125E headset. The warmth of the tube actually seems to sort of balance out the "brightness" of Grados. For me this thing is the perfect tube DAC for a desktop, but I have issues with my record player. I thought that I would be able to pass my record player's RCA cables into this thing and then back out to speakers so that I had the option of listening with either my headset or speakers, however it seems that the RCA out ports only go out from the USB in... which is my only real complaint. Also curious is that my model actually glows orange instead of white like advertised, but this isn't really an issue. My music has never sounded so clear and immersive, but I'm still kinda of bummed about the output not working for the RCA in, and this wasn't clear from the documentation or descriptions I saw online, so I have to knock off a star.
Gurley
1
Aug 6, 2019
thefute So are you going straight from the turntable to the RCA in? If you are not using a dedicated phono preamp, then it's not surprising that you got no sound. Even Moving Magnet cartridges don't output nearly enough voltage to drive a linestage. If you are using a phono preamp then I apologize and you definitely have a defective unit.
B3NNN
27
Jan 27, 2020
thefuteI ran into almost the exact same issue. I was trying to send audio from my phono preamp > Aune T1 > powered Audioengines and not only does it not pass the RCA in signal to the RCA out, it also doesn't send that audio through the tube. So that was disappointing and I feel your pain.
pauliusk
6
Oct 17, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Awesome tube DAC
I am using aune T1 as tube DAC only (mostly with two single triodes through an adapter; 6J5 RCA, Sylvania or Russian 6C2C tubes; or good 6SN7: Brimar, RCA grey glass etc.) with Schiit Vali 2 (also with two single triodes, usually Sylvania VT-192 from 1945), with AKG K702. Sounds absolutely gorgeous to my ears.
Recommends this product? Yes
abadir
9
May 9, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
I would love to give this 5 stars, but for me, my unit is probably faulty. I get huge amount of noise in one ear from this unit. Massdrop is not really helping, they just turned me down.
Operative
15
Jun 22, 2018
abadirWhile I didn't purchase it from here I am also getting faint static noise and dim sound on right side of my Denon AH-2000. It goes away sometimes but for the most it's there. Going to try some stuff and see if it fixes the interference.
sound1
23
Dec 14, 2018
abadirIt could also be due to a faulty tube. If you can borrow a compatiable tube it is probably worth swapping and seeing if the noise goes away.
Jerrremy
6
Feb 6, 2019
checkVerified Buyer
Great little tubey DAC/amp. I replaced the delivered EH tube to Genalex Gold Lion and found the sound more to my liking, less grainy (I think I read somewhere they are the same tube, but that Gold Lions would be the better ones handpicked... maybe so, I enjoy Gold Lion more). I also tested some borrowed old stock tubes and thought the sound differences can be heard and that tubes matter. Pairs very well with Sennheiser HD 6XX. I tried it with Oppo PM-2, but couldn't see proper synergy between them. No issues with line out. 1 star away due to drivers hassle with Windows and the power switch placing. Most sensitive headphones might be affected by channel imbalance at very low volume levels. Runs a bit warm too, but as long as it works without issues I'll just consider it a feature. I upgraded the power brick to Aune XP1 to add some cool factor - it works perfectly.
david_abadia
35
May 9, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
the first reason because I give it 3 stars its because I need to unplug it everitime I shut off my pc, if i don´t, the windows (Win 7) wont start when I shut on... plus that, I haven´t been able to use it whit Android and the OTG cable, whit diferents celphones, and tablets. and also, I think it would be nice that when using it as an Amp alone, whit the RCA Input, it whutdown the tube, but it doesn´t, so the tube keeps burning even if you are not using the DAC section... on the good side it sound great, whit good amount of power, and the tube swapping its nice, plus the 3 gain options, so it can handle from IEMs (LZ A4 16 ohms) to Full Size headphones (HD6XX 300 ohms)
RayF
22218
Jan 19, 2019
I was commenting more on the idiosyncrasies of Windoze and it's many followers still locked into version 7 for fear of upgrading, or moving too close to the 21st century (and bursting into flames). The issue with tube amps is the price one pays for believing everything one reads on MD ;- )
(Edited)
humbo
9
Jun 26, 2019
RayFOoops! Sorry about that. May have hit the reply on yours by accident. I was actually replying to someone else on this post... unfortunately I can't find them anymore.
prickeater
Dec 13, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
Im using it with k702, and imo its awesome
g0sp33dracr
2
May 24, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
Works great on Mac OSX, but definitely replace the tube. I'm using Reflector 6H23p-EB / 6922 (Premium) with Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 ohm headphones.
MattTheSasquatch
49
Oct 18, 2018
checkVerified Buyer
Showing 34 of 44
Related Products