Click to view our Accessibility Statement or contact us with accessibility-related questions
Drop + grell TWS1X IEM

Drop + grell TWS1X IEM

bookmark_border
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our customers, we agree to hide prices prior to logging in.
2.3K requests
·
Free Returns in USA
Product Description
We partnered with Axel Grell—legendary engineer behind some of Sennheiser’s most sought-after headphones—to create a true-wireless IEM with unprecedented audiophile-grade performance. Working closely with Axel’s new brand, grell, we left no feature unrefined. Noise-canceling is revolutionized with grell’s innovative psycho-acoustical Noise Annoyance Reduction (NAR) system. Connectivity is optimized with Bluetooth 5.2 and support for the latest codecs. Communication is crystalized with an advanced microphone array and patent-pending Multilayer Turbulence Eliminator (MTE). And sound quality? It’s best-in-class, thanks to custom-designed dynamic drivers. Introducing the Drop + grell TWS1X IEM: your new true-wireless staple.

Customer Reviews

3.1
(106 reviews)
5star
(15)
4star
(33)
3star
(20)
2star
(20)
1star
(18)
48% would recommend to a friend
By Feature
Build Quality
3.5(12)
Sound
3.9(11)
Comfort
3.0(11)
Music GenresPopular among reviewers
ActivitiesPopular among reviewers
search
close
jakelcw
10
May 9, 2024
checkVerified Buyer
Great sound, average usability
The sound quality is awesome, very impressive at this price range. However, the fit is not very snug (despite trying all different tips), noise cancellation is average, connectivity is sometimes flaky. Overall a good buy if you just have fun with the sound it provides, but not the daily use experience.
Recommends this product? Yes
j_kim
2
Apr 14, 2024
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Electronic, Hip-hop, R&B, Rock, World
checkVerified Buyer
still not sold on ANC
lovely sounding for relatively low priced convenience of TWS still not a fan of noose cancellation thought nice fit alas proved too loose & lost in travel
Recommends this product? Yes
Rahulsays
1
Jan 27, 2024
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening, Movies & TV
checkVerified Buyer
Sounds great, but right earpiece drops connection
I purchased it when it was selling on an incredible discount. Worth every penny for sound. The soundstage is expansive like one wouldn’t believe! It’s a little heavy in the ears, but the claws help keep em in place. The most annoying bit is connection drops. I’ve, unfortunately, experienced it while walking into Zoom meetings. My right ear piece died after a few months of use, but miraculously rose like Lazarus from a brief slumber (2 months later) in earpiece purgatory!!
Recommends this product? Yes
leonglh
0
Jan 21, 2024
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Pop
checkVerified Buyer
Difficult to fit, software extremely buggy
Sound quality is above average but very difficult to find a good fit. It is extremely buggy. Frequently disconnected from my Mac and IOS devices. There is also an intermittent loud noise when turning it ON. It usually goes off and settle down after a 10-20 secs. Please avoid this product.
Recommends this product? No
PvdM
9
Oct 1, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Movies & TV
Music Genres:Classical, Jazz
checkVerified Buyer
Poor fit & too many quirks
Whatever I do, I cannot get a good fit. I own and have owned a number of IEM's, but these just won't fit. The BT-connection is very poor. Usually I have to pair them a couple of times before the connection stays OK. There are a couple of design flaws....don't buy them.
Recommends this product? No
squeakath
5
Aug 12, 2023
Activities:Critical Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Country, Jazz
checkVerified Buyer
Never worked, never paired
These would not pair. I researched online with drop and a general google search, read everything I could find, even read and re-read the poorly written instructions, but these would not pair with any device that I have. My other Altec Lansing earbuds never had a problem with my phone, computer and music player, but these did. Awful waste of time and money. Returned.
Recommends this product? No
Tangerinee
2
Aug 5, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Gaming
Music Genres:Classical, Country, Electronic, Hip-hop, Metal, Pop, World
checkVerified Buyer
For 69 dollars, a steal
The audio quality and fit is as expected, nothing to out of this world. But not terrible,
Recommends this product? No
sonichedge
1
Jun 26, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening, Critical Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Electronic, Jazz, Metal, Pop, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
It's Really Hard to Design A TWS
I have a lot of BT TWS, ranging in price from $200 down to $50, and virtually all of them work seamlessly and are coherently designed. After owning all those variants, I thought designing a TWS can't be that hard. The Grell TWS have made me rethink this concept. Nothing works properly on these, despite costing $100-$200 and being designed by a Sennheiser veteran who worked on the iconic HD600 headphones. The Grells are just an astounding series of might have beens, mixed in with a whole bunch of "what were they thinking?" head scratchers. First off, the battery charging case bleeds off its charge quickly. Based on power loss over a few days, I'd say the case will lose half its charge over two weeks. (No long term use to confirm this, as I am quickly returning these...) The case is also really bulky and will not fit in a pants pocket. The buds are also stored on the opposite side from their designation - so the right bud is stored on the left side of the case and vice versa. When I saw that, my heart sunk a bit, as this is not exactly the most intuitive or explicable design choice. Next up, when placed in my ears, which easily accommodate every other TWS I own, the Grells feel like they have a shallow and unstable fit. I'm sure the sound quality is impacted, and the buds feel like they are on the verge of falling out of my ears. That's with the standard black body rings and medium silicone tips. No problem though - the buds come with other blue body rings that expand the diameter of the base that fits in your ear and also come with other silicone and foam tips. I mixed and matched, and ended up with a combo that firmly seated in my ear. Well and good! Except... that same ring and tip combo does not allow the buds to fit in the charging case to charge properly. The lid won't close and the contacts don't hit the charging points. Now I'm no engineer or product designer, but it seems like a basic lesson in Design 101 to make sure that your product works with all supplied accessories no? I guess I could just remove rings and tips to charge the buds, carry the teeny easily lost rings and tips separately, and then reassemble the components when I wanted to listen to the earbuds. But why would I want to do that especially when every other earbud I own does not require such conniptions? It gets worse. The Grells do not have their own app, but require one to use SoundID from Sonar Works to both customize the sound profile and also update the firmware of the TWS. I could not get the app to connect at all (even when choosing both the "Drop TWS" option and the "Grell TWS" option) and followed all the troubleshooting tips from the app and from the Sonar Works site. So no update capability, and no ability to customize sound profile. Next up - the interface! An overly sensitive large touch surface sits on top of each driver, and there are three different noise cancelling modes that can be used. The sensitivity is an issue, as whenever one adjusts the bud (like say to keep it from falling out of one's ear) it changes a setting of some sort. The NC modes are a nightmare, as some require you to press and hold in order to enter a toggle mode where that NC specifically can be turned on and off. Rather than a simple 1-2-3 cycle for the modes, you have on/off for mode 1, than on/off for mode 2, and then on/off for mode 3, and activating the other two modes or going back to the original one are all activated by different press and hold combos. Ultimately you'll end up with a mode you don't want and which can't be easily changed, and the sensitivity just makes this random ANC assignment all the more complicated. Other issues: the tips are mounted on short stubby stems, and fall off when in the case or in your ears. The BT connection cuts out randomly every once in a while and comes back a half second later. The main NC mode sometimes reacts badly to certain types of music and adds a thumping bass effect that is noticeably out of place in the music. The Noise Canceling at maximum is helpless against voices or TVs (works OK for commutes and HVAC hums). The volume level is also quite muted, and these buds produce sound levels at 50% that my other TWS sets produce at 30%. Good points: Sound quality at base level (all I can get as the app doesn't connect) is decent. Much worse than Sony or Apple, and roughly comparable to that of $100 Earfun or Anker TWS buds though, so this does not exactly shout "HD 600 genius" quality. No bass bloat or recessed sound stage, which are the typical bad TWS pitfalls, but clearly nothing exceptional either. Bottom Line: Looks like these were sloppily designed and barely tested. At $200 these are laughably inferior, and even at $100, the market is full of better designed TWS buds that show far superior quality and design. These are a horrible mishap and did much to make me appreciate my $50 Soundpeats more.
Recommends this product? No
KristianN
109
Jun 23, 2023
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Country, Electronic, Hip-hop, Metal, Pop, Rock
checkVerified Buyer
Good wireless
This is a good TWS, good but not great. No issues at all with connectivity, firmware upgrades, playing music or the operation of it, but I do not get them to fit my ears. I guess I would use them a lot more if they stayed in place properly. Not a bad buy at all, but would probably have rated it a lot better if they stayed in place as that makes the sound a lot better as well. Works really great with the SoundID app, no problems at all :-)
(Edited)
Recommends this product? Yes
Activities:Casual Listening
Music Genres:Classical, Electronic, Hip-hop, Jazz, Metal, Pop, R&B, Rock, World
checkVerified Buyer
not my favorite but works when treated right
Has an issue discharging when sitting idle. Interface is interesting but not the best to use. Sound quality is pretty great, the noise canceling is cool but prone to some artifacts. Connects easy but just not...good as a product overall. It has potential to be with additional development and QC. Legit, the build quality is great it just has little things here and there that make it not good.
Recommends this product? No
Showing 10 of 246
keyboard_arrow_up
Newest
246 OF 246 POSTS
keyboard_arrow_down
Oldest
Related Products